Guide to Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Denmark Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Country Information[edit | edit source]
Denmark is a Scandinavian country in Northern Europe bordering Sweden, Norway, and Germany. In 1793 its counties were reorganized into 24 counties. In 2007 the counties were reorganized into 5 regions. Danish is the official language with Faroese, Greenlandic, and German being recognized languages.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Denmark Research
Links to articles on getting started with Denmark research.
Denmark Research Tools
Links to articles and websites that assist in Denmark research.
Finding Your Ancestors' Town in Denmark[edit | edit source]
- Genealogical records are organized by geographical locality. Civil registration (government birth, marriage, and death records) and church records (christenings/baptisms, marriages, and burials) were kept at the local level. To search these records, you must know the town where your ancestors lived.
- If you do not know your ancestors' town, follow the advice in the Wiki article, Denmark Finding Town of Origin, to search a variety of records that might provide that information.
Denmark Clickable Map[edit | edit source]
The map below shows county boundaries from about 1793 to 1970.
Jurisdictions[edit | edit source]
Counties[edit | edit source]
The Standard which FamilySearch uses is as follows: Town, Sogn (Parish), Herred, Amt (County), Denmark. Click on a county below to go to the state Wiki article listing more information. The Counties of Denmark (1793 - 1970).
Denmark Parishes[edit | edit source]
2007 Regions[edit | edit source]
On 1 January 2007 the counties were reorganized into five regions. Their official names are:
- Region Hovedstaden
- Region Sjælland
- Region Nordjylland
- Region Midtjylland
- Region Syddanmark
More Denmark Research Strategies[edit | edit source]
Research strategies give guidance on how to research or what records to search for first. Below are additional research strategy Wiki articles for Denmark.
- Getting Started
- Emigration information
- Immigration information
- Using witnesses to find the next generation
- City People and Research
- My Danish Ancestors, A Step-by-Step Guide to Utilizing FamilySearch.org to find Danish Ancestors.
More Denmark Research Tools[edit | edit source]
Research tools can include resources that assist in locating correct records to search and determining the correct locality to search in. Below are links and Wiki articles to research tools for Denmark.
- Bauers kalendar Latin date converter
- Danish Family Search
- DIS-Danmark Kort over Danmarks amter fra 1793 til 1970 maps of Danish counties, districts, and parishes
- Hollinger Family History Lots of data for more than 2,100 people from many European countries since 1480.
- A.M. Krogh-Thomsen, Mormonkirkens store database PDF
- Københavns Stadsarkiv Begravelser i København Burials in Copenhagen, 1805-1942
- MyHeritage Denmark Family History Records
- Virgo-Fyn contains various databases including citizenship, church records, prisoner records, protocols.
- Wadschier.dk Skiftejurisdiktioner for Nørrejylland (Probate Jurisdictions in Northern Jutland) The database is intended to find archive capabilities where a probate can be found. One has to know where the deceased died and his condition.
FamilySearch Research Wiki[edit | edit source]
- Denmark Counties
- Denmark Record Finder
- Timeline of Events in your Ancestors Life
- Scandinavian Given Names
Church[edit | edit source]
- Denmark Parish Register Headings
Handwriting and Language[edit | edit source]
Military[edit | edit source]
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Family History Center locator map
- Historical Records
- FamilySearch Help Center Online Lessons:
- Danish Census Research Part 1: Using the Danish Demographical Database
- Danish Census Research Part 2: Finding Censuses on Arkivalieronline
- Danish Census Research Part 3: Extracting Genealogical Information
- Danish Church Records: Research Strategies
- Danish Church Records: Finding Ancestors Through Witnesses
- Danish Resources on FamilySearch.org