Deptford St Paul, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Deptford St Paul, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Deptford St Paul, Kent|
Deptford St+Paul London+SE8
|County||Kent, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Greenwich|
|Parish registers: 1730|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1801|
|Diocese||Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - London|
|Probate Court||Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Court of the Bishop of London (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent History and Library Centre|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DEPTFORD, a town, in the union of Greenwich, partly in the E division of the hundred of Brixton and of the county of Surrey, but principally in the hundred of Blackheath, lathe of Sutton-at-Hone, W division of Kent, 4 miles E from London. In 1730, the town was divided into the two parishes of St. Nicholas and St. Paul the latter extends into the county of Surrey.
DEPTFORD St Paul, was created a parish in 1730 and is situated 4 miles east of London.
St Paul's included only a part of the town and extended into and incorporated the chapelry of Hatcham in Surrey (county).
There are places of worship for Baptists, the Society of Friends, Independents, Wesleyan Methodists and Unitarians. See also Deptford St Nicholas.
The following chapels of ease and district church were attached to or associated with Deptford St Paul's:
- Hatcham St James - 1845
- St John Church - 1854
- Christ Church mission - 1864
- St Peter - 1867
The foundation stone of the Royal Naval school at Counter Hill, was laid June 1st, 1843. There are two almshouses belonging to the Corporation of the Trinity House, for decayed pilots and masters of ships, or their widows: one, in Church-street, was built about the close of the seventeenth century, and contains 56 apartments, forming a spacious quadrangle. Deptford is a district of South London partly in the London boroughs of Lewisham and Greenwich Deptford Wikipedia.<br>
The Ecclesiastical parish of Deptford St Paul was formed in 1730 from parts of Hatcham, Surrey and Deptford St Nicholas, Kent Genealogy Ancient Parishes. It was partly in Kent and partly in Surrey see St Paul's Deptford Wikipedia and a Deptford history parish and church history
The modern parish is in the Diocese of Southwark; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you
The church of St Paul Deptford High Street has been designated as a grade A listed buildingBritish listed building
See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 1 (1797), pp. 340-371 at British History Online
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Deptford St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|AC = Ancestry - (£)|
|FREG = FreeREG - free|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|KOPC = Kent Online Parish Clerks - free|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|Deptford St Paul Online Parish Records|
Land Tax[edit | edit source]
Images for Deptford St Paul are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 32-46. Date accessed: 22 July 2013.
- Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 32-46. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 March 2012.
- Lewis. Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 32-46. Adapted. Date accessed: 23 March 2012.
- London, England, Births and Baptisms, 1813-1906, courtesy: Ancestry ($). In Baptisms, described as Deptford St Paul in Lewisham Borough. Partially indexed.
- London, England, Deaths and Burials, 1813-1980, courtesy: Ancestry ($). In Marriages, described as Deptford St Paul in Lewisham Borough. Partially indexed.
- 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
- Batches C006302-C006303, P006301, and M006301, see: Hugh Wallis, "IGI Batch Numbers for London including Middlesex (A-M), England," IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 17 March 2012.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.
- Kent Online Parish Clerks, accessed 20 November 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes.