Digitized Danish Records Online - Arkivalieronline
Denmark Digitized Danish Records Online
About the Danish National Archives Website[edit | edit source]
In the fall of 2002, the Danish State Archives with the support of the Ministry of Culture, began to digitize the Danish Lutheran state church parish records and the national censuses. Today, a variety of other records can be found on the website including probate records, civil marriages, fire insurance, and court records.The images have been scanned from microfilm, microfiche, and original sources. The digital images are available for free at Arkivalieronline.
Church[edit | edit source]
Some of the first records to be digitized on the website are the Lutheran church records. Each parish has records digitized from the earliest records up to the 20th century (dates vary depending on the parish).
Danish Lutheran Church Parish Records are found by selecting 'Kirkebøger'.
- Click Søg (Search)
- On the Kirkebøger page, select 'Kirkebøger fra hele landet' or 'Church books from around the country'
- Then choose a parish from the many church parishes throughout Denmark
- Select from record options that appear for selected parish.
- From the column to the left of the parish record image viewer, choose the date span and the record type/types.
ArkivalierOnline uses the following codes to identify the content of each volume:
- F – Fødte (Baptisms)
- K – Konfirmerede (Confirmations)
- V – Trolovede/Viede (Engagements/Marriages)
- D – Døde (Deaths)
- T - Tilgangslister (Move-in lists)
- A – Afgangslister (Move-out lists)
- J - Jævnførelsesregistre (Comparative index)
The National Archives of Denmark has published a PDF, Hurtige tips & tricks til det nye Arkivalieronline to help users locate images from the church records. Similar help pages are also available on the National Archives' website for other categories of records.
|To learn more about the Danish Parishes see The Parish (Sogn) in Denmark|
Other Sites[edit | edit source]
Many indexed records can be found on FamilySearch at Denmark Church Records. These indexes are not complete. Images of the church records may also be accessed through the FamilySearch catalog entry for the specific parish.
Records can be also be viewed at Danish Family Search which is not affiliated with FamilySearch or its sponsoring organization. Left mouse-click on the map or on Church Books on Overview drop-down menu to select, successively, county, district, and parish, then select record group by date range and type/types of records. Danish Family Search website instructions can be viewed in either English or Danish language.
Census[edit | edit source]
Along with the church records, the censuses were some of the first Danish records to be digitized. As of 1 March 2018 the following censuses were available at ArkivalierOnline:
Census records are listed alphabetically by the government agency responsible for creating the records, then by the region. Most censuses are divided into three regions:
- København (Copenhagen city)
- Købstæder (other cities)
- Landdistrikter (rural areas) called Sognelister (parish lists) after 1916.
The 1803 census covers only the region of Slesvig-Holstein. The 1870 census separates handelspladser from the other cities. In 1940 Frederiksberg and Gentofte were included in enumerations separate from Copenhagen.
On the archives' homepage select Folketælinger or censuses to go to the census collection page.
- Select Folketællinger
- Select the census year and the region you wish to look at
- Records for Copenhagen city are further divided by the section of the city (kvarter) and neighborhood or street (etat)
- Other cities are grouped by county (amt) and city (købstad)
- Rural areas are grouped by county (amt), district (herred or birk), and parish (sogn)
More information can be found at Denmark Census or the FamilySearch Historical Records articles for a specific census.
The National Archives has a handout in Danish on how to find census records available at Hurtige tips & tricks til det nye ArkivalierOnline - især om folketelling. Similar help pages are also available on the website for other categories of records.
Guides to earlier versions of ArkivalierOnline can be found at Arkivalieronline Census Records Guide and Arkivalieronline: Accessing the Digitized Census Records.
Other Sites[edit | edit source]
Indexed census records can be found on FamilySearch.
Records can be also be viewed at Danish Family Search which is not affiliated with FamilySearch or its sponsoring organization. Select the county from the list or map. You can also select Overview\Census data from the menu. Select the Year, County, Hundred, and parish to access the indexed records.
Find Din Slægt (Find Your Family)[edit | edit source]
Online records that are often-used by genealogists are listed on the Archive's Find din slægt page.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
This includes several collections of probate material:
- Skiftemateriale, Sønderjylland - Various types of probate material from Sønderjylland to about 1870 Archive's quick guide (PDF)
- Skifter fra København - Probates from Copenhagen
- Skifter, hele landet - Probates for the rest of the country Archive's quick guide (PDF)
- Skifter, militære - Probates for members of the military
- Skiftevæsen - Registre og hjælpemidler - Probate authority indexes and guides
Unless otherwise noted records are available to about 1919.
A presentation from 2013 at the Family History Library on Accessing the Digitized Probate Records is available for download.
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
- Borgerlige vielser - Civil marriages, 1851-1960. See Denmark Civil Marriages - FamilySearch Historical Records for records available on FamilySearch.org
- Dødsattester - Death notices
- Fødselsstiftelsen i Jylland - Birthing hospital in Sankt Johannes parish, Århus, from 1910
- Fødselsstiftelsen i København - Birthing hospital in Copenhagen, 1774-1925
- Personregistre, Søndrejyllad - Registrations of birth, marriage, and death in South Jutland from 1874
A presentation from 2013 at the Family History Library on Accessing the Digitized Civil Records is available for download.
Find en Ejendom (Find a Property)[edit | edit source]
Records related to property ownnership can be found on the Archive's Find en ejendome page. These are also of interest to genealogists.
Fire Insurance[edit | edit source]
- Brandforsikring - Insurance policy property descriptions, taxation registers, 1731-1872
The National Archives has a guide to fire insurance registers
A presentation from 2013 at the Family History Library on Accessing the Fire Insurance Records is available for download.
Deeds and Mortgages[edit | edit source]
- Realregistre, skøde- og panteprotokoller - Registers of real property, deeds, and mortgages.
The National Archives has a guide to records containing property details