To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Distington, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Distington, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Distington, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allerdale above Derwent
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Whitehaven
Registration District Whitehaven
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1616
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Copeland
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Copeland
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

DISTINGTON, a parish, in the union of Whitehaven, Allerdale ward above Derwent, W. division of Cumberland, 4¼ miles (N. E. by N.) from Whitehaven.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Parish registers for Distington, 1661-1917 at the FHL

Bishop's transcripts forDistington, 1689-1864 at the FHL

Distington parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
DISTINGTON PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD

1653-1837


PRTS

1653-1837


Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
  • Primitive Methodist
  • Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Distington on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), Date accessed and adapted 25 July 2013 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 27 September 2013.