Vor Frue Parish København, København, Denmark Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Vor Frue, Denmark ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

Vor Frue parish is one of the oldest parishes in København. The parish has undergone many changes throughout the years. The following is a timeline of events for the parish:

  • 1683 - A part of the parish was seperated and incorporated into Trinitatis parish
  • 1685 - A part of the parish was seperated into Skt. Nikolaj parish
  • 1736 - The parish was again split and the seperated part was annexed by Frederiksberg parish
  • 11 Jan 1805 - Part of Skt. Nikolaj parish was added to Vor Frue when the parish closed
  • 1861 - The parish was split again and the seperated part became a part of the new Skt. Johannes parish
  • 1877 - The boundaries between Vor Frue and Skt. Johannes were again changed
  • 13 May 1908 - Part of Skt. Matthæus parish was annexed. Also, part of Vor Frue went to Helligånds parish
  • 1930 - The parish was split again and the seperated part became a part of the newly established Christiansborg Slotsogn
  • 3 Sept 1942 - Part of Skt. Andreas parish was added to Vor Frue.


Vor Frue parish is also known as Domkirken or Københavns Domkirke

Vor Frue Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift (diocese) Roskilde (Catholic) (Pre-1022-1537), Sjælland (1537-1922), København (1922-Present)
Pastorat (chapelry) Vor Frue
Len -1662 Add here
Amt (county) 1662 - 1793 Add here
Amt (county) 1794 - 1970 Copenhagen City
Herred (district) Add here
Kommune (municipality) Add here
1788 – 1793 Lægd number Add here
1794 – 1869 Lægd number Add here
Gods (estate) Skjoldenæsholm gods; Sømme herreds provsti; Tølløsegård gods; Roskilde Duebrødre klosters gods; Gammel Køgegård gods; Benzonseje gods; Egholm gods; Roskilde jomfruklosters gods; Gjeddesdal gods; Grebskabet Ledreborg; Vibygård gods
v • d • e


Street Names[edit | edit source]

Axeltorv

Bispetorvet, Blaatorn, Bryghusgade, Børsen

Dahlerupsgade, Dyrkøb

Farvergade, Fiolstræde, Frederiksberggade, Frederiksholms Kanal, Frue Plads, Fyrens Gang

Gammel Kongevej, Gammel Nørre Port, Gammel Torv, Gyldenløvesgade, Gaasegade

Hagemannsgade, Halmtorvet, Hammerichsgade, Helligkorsstræde, Henrik Fyrend Gang, Herholdtsgade, Hestemøllestræde

Jarmersgade, Jarmers Plads, Jernbanegade

Kampmannsgade, Kanikestræde, Kattesund, Kirkestræde, Klædeboderne, Kongensgade, Krystalgade, Kultorvet

Lars Bjørnsstræde, Larslejsstræde, Lavendelstræde, Lille Fiolstræde, Lille Kannikestræde, Lille Kjøbmagergade, Lille Lars Bjørnsstræde, Lille Sankt Klemensstræde, Løngangstræde

Meldahlsgade, Mikkel Bryggersgade, Mikkel Wibes Gade

Nansensgade, Ny Børs, Ny Kongensgade, Nyropsgade, Nytorv, Ny Vestergade, Nørre Farimagsgade, Nørregade, Nørre Søgade, Nørre Torv, Nørrevold, Nørre Voldgade

Peder Hvitfeldts Stræde, Perlegaarden, Philosophgang

Raadhuspladsen, Raadhusstræde

Sankt Peders Stræde, Schacksgade, Skindergade, Skinderstræde/Torv, Slutterigade, Smede Bakken, Smede Lange, Store Fiolstræde, Store Kannikestræde, Store Kjøbmagergade, Store Lars Bjørnsstræde, Store Sankt Klemensstræde, Stormgade, Studiestræde, Svenegade, Søndervold

Teglgaardstræde, Trommesalen, Tursensgade

Vandkunsten, Vandmøllestræde, Ved Langebro, Ved Ryrssensten, Vester Boulevard, Vesterbrogade, Vester Farimagsgade, Vestergade, Vester Søgade, Vestervold, Vester Voldgade, Vognbadstuestræde, Volden, Voldgade

To see what kind of place it is you will need a Danish Gazetteer.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Birth, Marriage, and Death Online Records[edit | edit source]

  • Free Online Database:
The vast majority of research you do in Denmark will be in church parish registers, which are held in the Danish State Archives available online at ARKIVALIERONLINE. Select your county and parish from the drop-down lists.
  • Help Reading Danish Records:
Denmark Parish Register Headings provides translated examples of parish headings. You will be able to interpret much of what is in the records using these headings. Danish Genealogical Word List covers typical terms found in the records. Denmark Feast Day Calendars will help you translate dates written in feast day form. Denmark surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Denmark Personal Names.
  • Help Reading Old Handwriting:
  • Knowing What to Look for Next:
To understand the best research strategies for these records, see Denmark Church Records Christenings Guide.


Collections[edit | edit source]

  • Lægdsruller, Danish Military Levying Rolls, is a census of men eligible to join military (1789-1932)
What's on Lægdsruller and Søruller
Danish Military Levying Rolls (Lægdsruller)

Related Sources[edit | edit source]



Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Denmark, København Records for a full listing of records at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Denmark, København" and then select your parish.

References[edit | edit source]

Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Vor_Frue_Parish_København,_København,_Denmark_Genealogy&oldid=4141883"