Dundurcas, Moray, Scotland Genealogy
Parish #141 (see Rothes)
This is a guide to the history and major genealogical records of Scotland as they pertain to the parish of Dundurcas. To learn more about how to use these records to search for your ancestors, go to the Scotland: Research Strategies.
History[edit | edit source]
ROTHES, a parish, partly in the county of Banff, but chiefly in that of Elgin, 8½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Fochabers. This place in 1782 received a considerable augmentation by the annexation of a part of the suppressed parish of DUNDURCAS, the remaining portion being united to the parish of Boharm, on the east side of the Spey. The church is a plain structure, situated in the centre of the village. The members of the Free Church have a place of worship.
Also see Dundurcas
The New Statistical Account of Scotland (pub. 1834-45) offers uniquely rich and detailed parish reports for the whole of Scotland, covering a vast range of topics including history, agriculture, education, trades, religion and social customs. The reports, written by the parish ministers, are available online at edina.($) Click on ‘Browse scanned pages’ then search the parish reports for your parish of interest. Also available at the Family History Library.
Bruce B. Bishop FSA Scotland. has done extensive research into this County, and each Parish, and has it published in The Lands and People of Moray, which the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, has copies under FamilySearch Catalogue Ref. 941.23 H2b
A Brief Description of the Parish of Dundurcas. This article covers from 1698-1782, The Lands and People of Moray, pt. 32, 2008, page 1. Family History Library Ref. 941.23 H2b
The Parish Prior to 1698. A brief history of Dundurcas including a list of some of the inhabitants, name, date, residence, relationship, or reason for being mentioned. The Lands and People of Moray pt.32, 2008, pages 2-3. FHL Ref. 941.23 H2b
The Parish from 1698 to 1725. A history of Dundurcas including a list of Rentalls of the Barronie of Mulbain dated 9 August 1706, giving names and lands. A list of some of the inhabitants from 1696 to 1767. The Lands and People of Moray, pt. 32, 2008, pages 4-30. Family History Library Ref. 941.23 pt. 32.
The Parish from 1726 to 1750. A brief history of Dundurcas including a list of recommendation for Kirk Elders, a list of poor parishioners and a list of some of the inhabitants giving name, date, residence, or reason bor being mentioned. Illustrated with facsimile of dedication to be inscribed on communion cups and a hand drawn copy of the tombstone of David Dalrymple (1678-1747) foun d in the ruins of Dundurcas Church yard in 2007, and a hand drawn map of Dundurcas about 1750. The Lands and People of Moray, pt. 32, 2008 pages 31-49, Family History Library Ref. 941.23 H2b pt. 32
The Parish from 1751 to 1783. A brief history of Dundurcas until it was divided between Rothes and Boharm Parishes. Included are lists of rentals and a list of some of the inhabitants. Illustrated with facsimiles of Poor List 1754 and pages of Interlocuter regarding the Suppression of Dundurcas in the Kirk Session Minutes of Rothes Parish. The Lands and People of Moray. pt 32, 2008, pages 50-66. FHL Ref. 941.23 H2b pt. 32
[edit | edit source]
A census is a count and description of the population, taken by the government, arranged by locality and by household. Read more about census records.
Here is a list of the Family History Library microfilm numbers for the census records of Dundurcas and Rothes as well as the library numbers for any surname indexes available:
||Family History Library Film Number
||6086568 (2 fiche)|
The 1841-1911 census of Scotland is indexed and imaged on scotlandspeople.($) To use it, you must register and pay a small access fee. All available censuses, 1841-1911, are indexed with images on this website. The 1841-1901 census records are indexed on www.findmypast.co.uk and www.ancestry.co.uk. It may be easier for you to pay to use the website rather than access the separate indexes through the Family History Library.
[edit | edit source]
The Established Church of Scotland was Presbyterian. Read more about church records.
Here are the pre-1855 records that exist for this parish
Established Church—Old Parochial Registers[edit | edit source]
Condition of Original Registers[edit | edit source]
Indexed: For an index to these records, see Scotland’s People website, a pay-for-view website. The Scottish Church Records Index is also still available at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. Some records may also be indexed in other FamilySearch collections for Scotland.. Also a publication of The Lands and People of Moray has a an index for the pre-1855 Burial records
Births: Records are well kept for 1698 1767, after which there are four pages of irregular entries dated 1771–1780. Extract entries of births for June 1760–February 1761 and September 1781–March 1783, with three entries 1771–1774 are recorded in the register of Boharm after 1793.
Marriages: Records end in 1757, but on the last page are 7 entries one for 1760 and six for 1770.
Deaths: Records are not continuous and are Mortcloth Dues 1718-1747 Family History Library book The Lands and People of Moray pre-1855 burial records
Source: Key to the Parochial Registers of Scotland, by V. Ben Bloxham, pub. 1970. British Book 941 K23b.
Established Church—Kirk Session Records[edit | edit source]
The Kirk session was the court of the parish. The session was made up of the minister and the land owners and business men of the parish, chosen to serve on the session. The Kirk session dealt with moral issues, minor criminal cases, matters of the poor and education, matters of discipline, and the general concerns of the parish. Kirk session records may also mention births, marriages, and deaths.
Here is a list of the surviving Kirk session records for this parish:
Minutes 1634–1652, 1654–1685, 1698–1760 Burials 1712-1747.
CH2/1115 Records of Boharm and Dundurcas Kirk Session. (United 1782) 1634-1979
CH2/599 Records of Dundurcas Kirk Session 1698-1760
Note: Available at the National Archives of Scotland, Edinburgh, record CH2/1115, 599.
Nonconformist Church Records[edit | edit source]
A nonconformist church is any church that is not the Established church. Read more about nonconformity in Scotland in the article on the Scotland Church Records Union List.
No known nonconformist groups exist.
Civil Registration Records
[edit | edit source]
Government or civil registration of births, marriages, and deaths (also called statutory records) began on January 1, 1855 in Scotland. Each parish has a registrar's office and large cities have several. The records are created by the registrars and copies are sent to the General Register Office in Edinburgh. Annual indexes are then created for the records for the whole country.
See the article on Scotland Civil Registration for more information and to access the records.
Land and Property[edit | edit source]
[edit | edit source]
Dundurcas was under the probate jurisdiction of the Commissary Court of Moray until 1823, and since then has been under the Sheriff's Court of Elgin. Probate records for 1513- 1901 are indexed online at scotlandspeople.($) You must register on the website but use of the index to probate records, called 'Wills & Testaments,' is free. You may then purchase a copy of the document or, if the document is before 1823, it will be on microfilm at the Family History Library. To find the microfilm numbers, search in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Moray and the subject of 'Probate records.' Then click on the link to the records of the Commissariat of Moray.
The library also has some post-1823 probate records for Moray. Look in the library catalog for the 'Place-names' of Moray and the subjects of 'Probate Records' and 'Probate Records - Indexes.'
Read more about Scotland Probate Records.
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of Scotland (1846), pp. 499-514. Adapted. Date accessed: 27 June 2014.
Return to Moray parish list.