Durham, England Genealogy
|Durham Wiki Topics|
|Local Research Resources|
Guide to Durham ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, parish registers, and military records.
County Information[edit | edit source]
In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described County Durham like this:
Durham.-- co. palatine and maritime co., in N. of England; is bounded N. by the Derwent and the Tyne, beyond which is Northumberland; E. by the North Sea; S. by the Tees, beyond which is Yorkshire; and W. by Cumberland and Westmorland; greatest length, 48 miles; greatest breadth, 40 m.; length of coast line, 32 m.; area, 647,592 ac.; pop. 867,258. The western portion of the co. consists of hill-ranges, enclosing fertile valleys; the eastern portion, in which the prevailing rocks are magnesian limestone and new red sandstone, is more level; in the central districts are the coal measures. ...
Parishes[edit | edit source]
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N P R S T U W
Use an interactive map to find jurisdictions for each parish in Durham.
Civil Registration Districts[edit | edit source]
Websites[edit | edit source]
- Durham County Record Office Birth, marriage and death records, census, parish registers, place name index, non-conformist church records, wills, etc.
- Durham Resources and help pages on RootsChat Durham Resources and help pages. (Free).
- Durham Genuki
- Online Genealogical Index
- Mary's Genealogy Treasures various topics
- 1930 - England and Wales National Register, 1939 at FamilySearch — index