Duxford St John, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Duxford St John, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Duxford consisted historically of two parishes:
- St John
- St Peter see Duxford St Peter, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
|Duxford St John, Cambridgeshire|
Duxford St John Cambridgeshire
|County||Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Linton|
|Parish registers: 1684|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DUXFORD, comprising the parishes of St. Peter and St. John, in the union of Linton, hundred of Whittlesford, county of Cambridge, 9 miles S by E from Cambridge. The two churches are supposed to have been built about the end of the thirteenth century.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Duxford St John parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Duxford St John Online Parish Records|
|IGI||1599-1686, 1684-1876||1599-1685, 1666-1879|
|FS Catalog PRs||1684-1883||1684-1883||1684-1883|
|FS Catalog BTs||1599-1857||1599-1857||1599-1857|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Duxford St John on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 110-121. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.