Dypvåg Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Dypvåg, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Dypvåg Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Østlandet
Prestegjeld Dypvåg
Kommune Tvedestrand
Skifteretten Nedenes
Tinglag Dybvaag
Fogderi Nedenes
Sorenskriveri Nedenes
Skipreide Strengreid skipreide


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Microfilm at the Family History Library for Dypvåg prestegjeld (clerical district). Contains priest and sexton records from the parishes Dypvåg (Dybvåg) and Flosta (Flaugstad). They were separated from Holt clerical district in 1812. See Sønneløv clerical district for some church records for the years 1801-1815. Parish registers from 1699-1924.

  • Digitized parish registers are available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census: This census includes Dypvåg (Dybvåg), Tromøy, Holt, Austre Moland, Flosta, Arendal, and Kristiansand parishes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It was taken by the local parish priests and lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.


  • 1664-1666 Civil Census: This census includes Dypvåg (Dybvåg), Flosta, Arendal, Austre Moland, Holt, Tromøy, and Tvedestrand parishes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It was taken by the local civil authorities and lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.


  • 1701 Manntal: The 1701 census for Dybvåg is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City and includes Dybvåg (Dypvåg), Holt, Tromøy, Arendal, Austre Moland, and Flosta parishes. The census of 1701 was taken for military purposes. It lists only the males living in rural districts who were over the age of one year. It includes the farm name, name and age of the owner, names and ages of sons and servants. Also includes the residence of all unmarried males living away from home when the census was taken.



  • 1815: A special 1815 census for Dybvåg is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It includes the head of houshold (or his widow), his wife, children, other family members staying in household, fosterchildren, servants, occupation, sex, age and some miscellaneous information.


  • 1825: A special 1825 census for Borøy in Dypvåg parish, Dybvåg clerical district exits is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It includes the farm names, head of household (or his widow), his wife, children, other family members staying in household, servants, occupation, sex, age and some miscellaneous information.


  • 1865: The 1865 census for Dybvåg clerical district includes the parishes of Dybvåg (Dypvåg) and Flosta and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This 1865 census contains the name of the farm, persons name, status in the family, residence, occupation, sex, marital state, place of birth, age, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district. In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway.


  • 1875: The 1875 census for Dybvåg clerical district includes the parishes of Dybvåg (Dypvåg) and Flosta and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This 1875 census contains the name of the farm, persons name, year of birth, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, place birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Also available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Dybvåg includes the parishes of Dybvåg (Dypvåg) and Flosta and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the name of the farm, persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, when born, where born, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available online in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway.


Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Danielsen, Daniel (Daniel Andreas), 1879-1957; Jenssen, Sophus: Dypvåg, gårds-og slektshistorie:

This community tree is the result of merging the extracted data from 5 volumes of bygdebok (local or community history) for the Dypvåg clerical district. Dypvåg is in the Setesdal region and consists of 2 parishes: Dypvåg and Flosta. No additions or corrections are accepted for this community tree. If you see information that you believe is incorrect or incomplete, the information can be corrected or updated in Family Tree.

A genealogy of the people and their farms in Dypvåg in Aust-Agder county with a history of the area.

FHL 948.28/D1 D2 To view in a digital version click here

Løvdal, Simon: Løvdal i Dypvåg gården og slektene: A genealogy of the people and how they lived on the Løvdal estate in Dypvåg in Aust-Agder county.

FHL 949.28/D1 D2

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh Norwegian Farm Names Index in about 1900 were as follows:

28 Aas, 16 Askerøen vestre,

21 Barlinddalen, 13 Borøen ytre, 21 Brenningskjæret, 17 Bukholmen, 32 Bukholmen,

34 Eidbu,

21 Flatskjær med Vinterstø, 35 Furøen,

21 Geving, 30 Gjesøen, 22 Gjøseid, 34 Grønland,

21 Hellersøen,

15 Kilene, 29 Kilsenden, 24 Knutlien, 27 Kraakevaag,

19 Lyngør indre, 22 Løvdal,

33 Nes og Hovden, 23 Normandvik,

25 Præstegaarden,

24 Reinsfjeld, 20 Risøen,

14 Sandøen vestre, 31 Skatbunes, 21 Skipvik, 34 Stokkebu, 26 Størdal,

29 Ulevaag, 27 Usnes


Dypvåg Gards- og Slektshistorie II og III og IV.

Askerøya,

Borøya, Bukkholmen,

Dalen, Dypvåg, Dypvågdalen,

Eikenes,

Gjeving, Gjøseid, Gjøsøya,

Hagen, Halsen, Heller,

Klåholmen, Knutelia, Kråkevåg,

Lyngør, Løvdal,

Narmnnvika,

Reinsfjell, Risøya, Rørkil,

Sanden, Sandøya, Skattebunes, Skibvik, Steinsøya, Storrkjær, Størdal,

Åstø

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Marcussen, Simon, 1928-: Register over slekten Macussen fra Askerøy. A genealogy of the Marcussen family from Askerøy in Dypvåg, Aust-Agder, Norway who are descendants of Marcus Jenssen ("Marcus Jute") born 1736 at Randers, Denmark and died 1802 at Askerøy.

FHL 929.2481 M334

Perleff, Morten, 1872-; Hansen, Elling, 1850-: Slektsregister. A genealogy of the descendants of Tore Eidbo from the farm Eidbu (Eidbo) in Dypvåg in Aust-Agder county in Norway and includes the ancestors and children of the authors of this record, Morten Perleff and Elling Hansen.

FHL 929.2481 Ei27 To view a digital version click here

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Nedenes judicial district
*1640-1824 Family History Library
*1698-1826 Digitalarkivet

Holt (Austre Nedenes) judicial district
*1825-1857 Family History Library
*1823-1911 Digitalarkivet

Nedenes deanery
*1693-1811 Family History Library
*1693-1811 Digitalarkivet