Dyrøy Parish, Troms, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Dyrøy, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Dyrøy Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
add here
Prosti add here
Len 1599-1660 Nordlandene
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1789: Nordlandene, 1789-1866: Finmmarken, 1866-1919: Tromsø
Fylke 1919-Present Troms
Region add here
Prestegjeld Tranøy
Kommune add here
Skifteretten add here
Tinglag Tranøy
Fogderi Senja og Tromsø
Sorenskriveri Senjen
Skipreide add here


Church Records[edit | edit source]

Dyrøy is a parish in Tranøy clerical district. Records begin in 1744.

Parish heading list shows the Norwegain headings on the parish records with an English translations for each of the different forms used throughout the records beginning in 1814. Prior to that time the records were kept in a journal format which varies with each parish.

Digital images of the church books are online at Digitalarkivet.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • Vicar's Census 1664-1666, no. 36: Lofoten and Vesterålen deanery, Senja deanery and Troms deanery Digital Archivess=&from=&to=&format=all&archive_key=&jt%5B%5D=39&m%5B%5D=1926


  • Bailiff's Census 1664-1666, no. 20: Modern Nordland county, modern Troms county and modern Finnmark county Digital Archives



  • 1801, 1865, 1875 see Tranøy clerical district.


  • 1801-telling for Sand (Dyrøy) is also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet.


  • 1891 Folketelling for Dyrøy Clerical District is available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).




Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

1706-1877 Senja judicial district.

1776-1809 Troms County judicial district.

1697-1824 Troms and Senja deanery.

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

  • Gårds- og slektshistorie for Dyrøy by Oddbjørn Knutsen. A genealogy and a history of the people and their farms in Dyrøy, Troms County, Norway. Vol. 1 includes an expanded index. text in Norwegian.

Farm name indexes to volumes 1 -3 are found in the following links. File:948.452-D1 D2k V1 - DYROY 1.pdf, File:948.452-D1 D2k V2 - DYROY 2.pdf, File:948.452-D1 D2k V3 - Dyrøy.pdf

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Name Index in about 1900 were as follows:

40 Berg, 9 Bjørkebakken, 11 Brøstad,

34 Djupvik nordre, 36 Dyrøklauven,

35 Espejorden,

20 Faksfjord, 4 Finfjeldet, 2 Finland, 1 Finlandsneset, 3 Finlandsviken, 29 Forsaa nedre, 19 Frimobakken,

23 Giskevik nordre, 24 Giskevik søndre,

30 Hals 26 Havn, 31 Holm, 14 Hundstrand,

18 Kastnes, 17 Kastneshavn, 33 Klubbeneset, 22 Kvalnes,

27 Lien,

25 Miklebostad, 32 Mærkesne,s

10 Rubbaasen,

8 Sandvik, 15 Skjæret, 37 Skogshavn, 16 Sortevik, 14 Steffanes, 38 Storelven, 39 Storelvhaugen, 5 Storlien, 12 Sæter nordre, 21 Sørfjord,

33 Utengen,

41 Vinje lille

Gårds-og slektshistorie for Dyrøy Volume I

Bakkehaug, Bakkejord, Bakketun, Bergan, Bergheim, Bjerglund, Bjørkebakken, Bjørkeng, Bjørklund, Blindfinnheimen, Brattli, Brøstad, Dalgård, Dalheim, Elvebakken, Elvemo, Elverum, Elvevold, Elvernes, Fagerheim, Fagertun, Farstad, Finnefjellet, Finnland, Finnlandsnes, Finnlandsvika, Flatland, Fossmo, Fridheim, Gluggen, Grunnes, Gullbakkene, Hammervold, Hassvold, Haugen, Haugland, Heimly, Hindberg, Høgmo, Høgvold, Høylund, Hugheim, Hundstrand, Kvilstad, Langmyrmoen, Lauvset, Leiringen, Lia, Lillegård, Lilleng, Lund, Lunde, Luneng, Lyngvoll, Moldforsletten, Molund, Myrgård, Myrlund, Myrvang, Myrvold, Nergård, Nerland, Nordheim, Nordhop, Nordli, Nordre Sæter, Norvold, Nylund, Nymoen, Nyrud, Nyrvold, Rubbåsen, Rustad, Rydningen, Ryvold, Sandavika, Sandmo, Sandvik, Sandvika, Sandvoll, Skåbakken, Skjæret, Skoglund, Slettebakken, Solbakk, Solhaug, Solli, Sortevik, Steffanes, Steinmo, Steinvoll, Stenhaugen, Stian, Storlia, Strandly, Svaleng, Sæter, Sørgård, Sørhop, Tilfredshet, Torheim, Vallurhauge, Vonheim, Yttergård

Gårds og slektshistorie for Dyrøy Volume II

Bakke, Berglund, Bjerklund, Dyrøyhamn, Elvebakken, Engen, Fagerli, Faksfjord, Fløystad, Forså, Framnes, Fredheim, Frimobakken, Gjeskevik, Hals, Hamn, Hamneskaret, Hamnøra, Haugli, Hegge, Heimly, Holm, Kastnes, Kastneshamn, Kirkenes, Kjærvik, Kvalnes, Lasletta, Leirbakken, Lia, Lian, Liasletten, Løkhaug, Løkvold, Lundegård, Lyseng, Mellomsletten, Merkesnes, Mikkelbostad, Myre, Myrlund, Nergård, Nesset, Nordgård, Nordhaug, Nordhus, Nordmo, Nøysomhet, Nyengen, Nygård, Nylund, Nymoen, Nyseth, Pålsjord, Raplia, Rydning, Sandavika, Skogheim, Skoglund, Solheim, Solstad, Solvang, Sølvfest, Sørfjord, Steinbakken, Steinli, Stenvold, Tryggstad, Utstrand, Ås

Gårds- og slektshistorie for Dyrøy Volume III

Aspeli, Aspheim, Bakken, Berg, Bergli, Betholmen, Bjerklund, Bjørkvik, Blomli, Burvold, Bustusheim, Dalheim, Djupvik, Dyrøykleiva, Einemoen, Elvenesset, Elvevold, Elvstad, Espejord, Espenes, Fjellseth, Forstrand, Fredheim, Furulund, Geitnesvika, Gjerdesletten, Hauan, Haug, Kalvøy, Kjerrgård, Klauvhamn, Klubbenes, Langhamn, Lavik, Lavika, Lavold, Lille Vinje, Lillesandvik, Lunde, Løkken,  Mellommoen, Mobakken, Moen, Moland, Molund, Myrlund, Myrmoen, Myrnes, Myrseth, Myrvold, Nergård, Nordhus, Nygård, Nylund, Nymo, Nystedet, Nøysomhet, Oppegård, Opphaug, Ringnes, Sandes, Seljebakken, Seljevolden, Sjøbakken, Skakland, Skarli, Skjærnes, Skogli, Skogly, Skogshamn, Skogstad, Slettli, Solbakken, Solheim, Solset, Solseth, Solstrand, Stegermoen, Steinbakken, Steinbrått, Steinhaug, Store Vinje, Storelv, Storelva, Storelvhaug, Storhaugen, Storhaugliene, Strand, Stranda, Strandvold, Svendsgård, Sætran, Sørgård, Torheim, Trættevikhaug, Tune, Tømmermoen, Uteng, Vangen, Vievold, Vinje, Volden, Øverli, Åsland

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Kleiva, Ivar, 1903-: Noko om Teodora Nilsen og Hilmar Pettersens forfedre, ætt og etterkomarar.  A genealogy of the ancestors and descendants of Teodora Jakobsdatter Nilsen born in1881 on Elvebakken in Dyrøy, Troms, Norway, died 1933 and Hilmar Pettersen born 1881 on Gryttefjord in Torsken, Troms, Norway, died 1940.

FHL 929.2481 A1

To view a digital version click here

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names

-Knutsen, Oddbjørn: Gårds- og slektshistorie for Dyrøy Bind I. Dyrøy Kommune 1990

-Knutsen, Oddbjørn: Gårds- og slektshistorie for Dyrøy Bind II. Dyrøy Kommune 1990

-Knutsen, Oddbjørn: Gårds- og slektshistorie for Dyrøy Bind III. Dyrøy Kommune 1990