Earnley and Almodington, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Earnley and Almondington, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Earnley and Almodington, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Westhampnett|
|Parish registers: 1562|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1590|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
EARNLEY, a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Manhood, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 6½ miles (S. W. by S.) from Chichester; The is in the early English style. A place of worship for Independents was opened in 1839.
Earnley is an Ancient parish in the Chichester district of West Sussex and includes the small hamlet Almodington within the parish. The former church at Almodington was one of the poorest livings in the Diocese before the demise of the church The history of the church is here For history of the church at Almodington see Almodington Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) and Sussex Parish Churches
The church has no recorded dedication and has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Westhampnett registration district
From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office.
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church records[edit | edit source]
Earnley and Almodington, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|EARNLEY AND ALMODINGTON PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Earnley and Almodington
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 121-124. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.