East Dean St Simon and St Jude (East Sussex), Sussex Genealogy
Guide to East Dean St Simon and St Jude, East Sussex, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DEAN, EAST, a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Westbourn and Singleton, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 8 miles (S. by E.) from Midhurst.
East Dean St Simon and St Jude is an Ancient Parish near Eastbourne in the Wealden district of East Sussex; a history of the church may be found East Dean near Eastbourne
The parish church of St Simon and St Jude has been designated a grade I listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For civil registration history see Eastbourne registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office Town Hall Grove Road
Eastbourne BN21 4UG Phone 01323 464780 Fax01323 431386 email firstname.lastname@example.org
Church Records[edit | edit source]
East Dean St Simon and St Jude parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|East Dean St Simon and St Jude Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 15-23. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
- Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.