East Grinstead, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to East Grinstead, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|East Grinstead, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||East Grinstead|
|Registration District||East Grinstead|
|Parish registers: 1662|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Rural Deanery||South Malling|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
GRINSTED, EAST (St. Swithin), a market-town and parish, the head of a union, and formerly a representative borough, in the hundred of East Grinsted, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 19¾ miles (N.) from Lewes, and 30 (S. by E.) from London.
East Grinstead St Swithin (sometimes Swithun) is an Ancient Parish and a market town in the county of Sussex. Other places in the parish include: Ashurst, Burliegh Arches Manor, and Clarkes Manor.
St Swithun church history The church of St Swithun has been designated as a grade B listed Building British listed building East Grinstead church history introduction List of demolished worship places in West Sussex
From the Ancient parish the following were formed:
See also East Grinstead Wikipedia for history of the Anglican Church development in the town and the four churches.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
For civil registration history see East Grinstead registration district
Certificates may be obtained from
East Sussex The Register Office
BN21 4UG Phone01323 464780 Fax 01323 431386 email firstname.lastname@example.org
Church records[edit | edit source]
East Grinstead, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FREG = FreeReg.org.uk|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|EAST GRINSTEAD PARISH (1558) Online Records|
East Grinstead St. Swithun records held at West Sussex Record Office
Bishop’s transcripts 1606-1899
Links to the FamilySearch Catalog showing the film numbers in their collection Grinstead, East
Leppard, M. J. East Grimstead Parish Registers 1558-1661: A Supplementary List of Additions and Corrections. Additions and corrections to the Parish Register of East Grinstead. Includes extracts from Wills to documents, burial entries that were lost in a fire, as well as baptisms and marriages. Article to be found in magazine, Sussex Family Historian. Vol. q. #2. Sept 1973 pages 41-44, Family History Library Ref. 942.25 B2su
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 344-347.Date accessed: 27 September 2013
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.