East Hoathly, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to East Hoathly, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|East Hoathly, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Uckfield|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1607|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Lewes|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
HOATHLY, EAST, a parish, in the union of Uckfield, hundred of Shiplake, rape of Pevensey, E. division of Sussex, 5 miles (S. E. by S.) from Uckfield.
East Hoathly is an Ancient Parish in the Wealden district of Sussex, which includes Whitesmiths, Grays, and The Nursery. The civil parish of East Hoathly with Halland ( which contained a former Anglican mission chapel) joins the two villages for local government purposes.
A history of the church East Hoathly
The parish church (dedication unknown) has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
East Hoathly Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC) See for details of the Halland mission chapel.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
This parish was part of Uckfield registration district from September 1837. see further details To apply for certificates please contact
The Register Office
Phone 01323 464780
Fax 01323 431386
Church Records[edit | edit source]
East Hoathly, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|East Hoathly, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Hoathly, East
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.