East Lavant, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to East Lavant, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|East Lavant, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Westhampnett|
|Parish registers: 1653|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1610|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deaneries of Pagham and Tarring|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LAVANT, EAST and WEST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of West Hampnett, hundred of Aldwick, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 2½ miles (N.) from Chichester.
East Lavant St Mary is an Ancient Parish which included West Lavant and belonged to a peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury at Pagham, Sussex The village and civil parish of Lavant is made up of three villages, Mid Lavant and East Lavant together with the much smaller West Lavant, and takes its name from the River Lavant which flows from East Dean and is in the Chichester District of West Sussex. See Lavant West Sussex Wikipedia
The history of the Church St Mary East Lavant
The church of St Mary Fordwater Road Lavant has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Westhmpnett registration district From 1935 this became part of Chichester registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex
Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
East Lavant, Sussex Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|SOPC = Sussex Online Parish Clerks - free|
|TGEN = The Genealogist - (£)|
|East Lavant, Sussex Genealogy Online Parish Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
See Sussex Census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 33-37. Date accessed: 27 September 2013
- 'Boyd's Marriage Index - Parish details by county', Origins.net (Wayback Machine), accessed 30 December 2013.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 3 January 2014.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 24 January 2021.