East Leake, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to East Leake, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
|East Leake, Nottinghamshire|
St Mary East Leake Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Loughborough|
|Parish registers: 1600|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1626|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
LEAKE, EAST (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Loughborough, S. division of the wapentake of Rushcliffe and of the county of Nottingham, 4¾ miles (E.) from Kegworth. There are places of worship for Baptists and Wesleyans. 
East Leake is a village and parish found on the border of several counties: Nottinghamshire, Leicestershire, and Derbyshire. Historically, East Leake was categorized in the ecclesiastical parish of Nottingham and the civil parish of Loughborough.
The earliest known Church of England in East Leake was the Church of St. Leonard. It was later replaced by the current church, St. Mary's Church, around 1300 A.D.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
East Leake, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|EAST LEAKE PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Leake, East
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
The General Baptist Church established a congregation at East Leake during the eighteenth century, and in 1757, they erected a Baptist meetinghouse. Copies of the General Baptist Register of Births at East Leake are available on microfilm through the Family History Library.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
East Leake in GENUKI: East Leake
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
-  FamilySearch Maps
-  East Leake History
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' 'Nottinghamshire burials 1539-1905,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
-  East Leake History
-  East Leake Baptist Births