East Orchard, Dorset Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to East Orchard, Dorset ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Orchard, Dorset
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Sixpenny-Handley
County Dorset
Poor Law Union Shaftesbury
Registration District Shaftsbury
Records begin
Parish registers: 1785; For more records see Iwerne Minster
Bishop's Transcripts: 1731
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shaftesbury
Diocese Salisbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Dorset
Location of Archive
Dorset Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

ORCHARD (East), a parish in Shaftesbury district, Dorset; on an affluent of the River Stour, 3 miles N by E of Shillingstone railway station, and 4¼ SSW of Shaftesbury. The church was rebuilt in 1860.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

East Orchard Online Parish Register Images and Indexes
 
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Earliest
1760
1760
1760
Images
1760-1819 Ancestry baptisms, marriages, and burials[2]
1813-1839 Ancestry[3]

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Dorset Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, publ. London and Edinburgh: 1870. Date accessed: 06 July 2013.
  2. Dorset, England, Baptisms, Marriages, and Burials, 1538-1812, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.
  3. Dorset, England, Marriages and Banns, 1813-1921, courtesy: Ancestry (£). Partially indexed.