To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

East Peckham, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
East Peckham

Guide to East Peckham, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

East Peckham, Kent
East Peckham St Michael Kent.jpg
East Peckham St Michael Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Twyford
County Kent
Poor Law Union Malling
Registration District Malling
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1667
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

PECKHAM, EAST (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Malling, hundred of Twyford, lathe of Aylesford, W division of Kent, 5½ miles NE by E from Tonbridge. There is also a meeting-house for Wesleyans. [1]

East Peckham is a village and civil parish in the Tonbridge and Malling district of Kent. East Peckham Wikipedia

East Peckham St Michael was an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Rochester. The redundant church is now in the care of the Churches Conservation Trust. St Michael's Church East Peckham

The Church of St Michael, Church Lane, East Peckham has been designated as a grade II* listed building.

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 91-106. Data accessed: 9 September 2013. at British History Online and Kent Churches website

See East Peckham Holy Trinity was also built in 1842 and created as a parish from St Michael in 1843. The Church of Holy Trinity has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

A map of the parish is available A church near you

See Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

This parish was from 1837 in the Malling registration district

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

East Peckham parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS Canterbury PRs = England, Kent, Canterbury Parish Registers, 1538-1986 (FamilySearch) - free
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911 (FamilySearch) - free
FS = FamilySearch - free
FMP Kent = Kent Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP Canterbury = Kent Canterbury Archdeaconry Baptisms, Marriages, Burials (FindMyPast) - ($)
FMP East Kent = East Kent Marriage and Burial Indexes (FindMyPast) - ($)
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
East Peckham Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PRs 1538-1911
1538-1911
1538-1911
FS Canterbury PRs 1538-1986
1538-1986
1538-1986
FS BTs
1560-1911
1560-1911
1560-1911
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
FREG 1538-1900s
1538-1900s
1538-1900s
FMP Kent 1563-1919
1558-1962
1552-1940
FMP Canterbury 1538-1918
1538-1934
1538-1998
FMP East Kent

1538-1754
1813-1841
BOYD

1538-1850


IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Kent Online Parish Clerks has indexes available for select parishes. Records are also available at the Kent Archives.

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Census records[edit | edit source]

East Peckham Census Returns 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

East Peckham on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 542-545. Date accessed: 24 April 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch