Eastchurch, Kent Genealogy
Guide to Eastchurch, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Eastchurch All Saints Kent
|Hundred||Isle of Sheppey Liberty|
|Poor Law Union||Sheppey|
|Parish registers: 1677|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1562|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury|
|Location of Archive|
|Kent Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
EAST-CHURCH (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Sheppey, liberty of the Isle of Sheppey, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E division of Kent, 5 miles E by S from Queenborough. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Eastchurch All Saints is an Ancient Parish on the Isle of Sheppey, two miles east of Minster. The present church dates from 1431-1432 when the previous church on the site was ruined; the church has had restoration after 1922 fire damage to roofs. It is designated as a grade I listed building by English heritage. Eastchurch has place in British aviation history due to Eastchurch airfield. A stained glass window in the parish church commemorates the death of Charles S Rolls and Cecil Grace who died in an accident in 1910 and an aviation memorial opposite the church. The Wright brothers Orville and Wilbur flew from here and Eastchurch was home to early aircraft building and flight in the 1900s.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Eastchurch sub district was within the Sheppey registration district.
Kent County Council Registration Services, Invicta House, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX, Telephone 08458 247 400 http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually.
Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.
The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Kent TN1 1EP Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Eastchurch parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = findmypast - (£)|
|FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free|
|Eastchurch Online Parish Records|
|FMP||1677-1867||1677-1836; 1817-1818 (Banns)||1677-1857|
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
- See Kent Census
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 127-129. Date accessed: 25 July 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
- 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
- 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 13 November 2013.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.