Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians of North Carolina

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
North Carolina Wiki Topics
North Carolina flag.png
Beginning Research
Record Types
North Carolina Background
Cultural Groups
Local Research Resources

Guide to Cherokee Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Eastern Band of Cherroke Indians, Joel Queen, a E.B.C. ceramic artist and sculptor, 2007.jpg

The Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians of North Carolina is a federally-recognized tribal entity.

Tribal Headquarters[edit | edit source]

Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians of North Carolina
88 Council House Loop / P.O. Box 455
Cherokee, NC 28719
Phone: 828-497-7000
Website

History[edit | edit source]

Brief Timeline[edit | edit source]

Reservations[edit | edit source]

Records[edit | edit source]

The majority of records of individuals were those created by the agencies. Some records may be available to tribal members through the tribal headquarters.They were (and are) the local office of the Bureau of Indian Affairs, and were charged with maintaining records of the activities of those under their responsibility. Among these records are:

Siler, David W., A Census of the Cherokee Nation in North Carolina, Tennessee, Alabam and Georgia in 1851. Cottonport, LA, Polyanthos, 1972. FHL Book 970.3 C424sd

Online Records[edit | edit source]

Websites[edit | edit source]

For Further Reading[edit | edit source]

  • Donaldson, Thomas Carwin. Eastern Band of Cherokee of North Carolina, Washington D. C., Library of Congress FHL Film 1009060 Item 5

For background information to help find Native American ancestors see For Further Reading.

References[edit | edit source]