To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Eastling, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Eastling, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eastling, Kent
Eastling St Mary Kent.jpg
Eastling St Mary Kent.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Faversham
County Kent
Poor Law Union Faversham
Registration District Faversham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ospringe
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

EASTLING (St. Mary), a parish, in the union and hundred of Faversham, Upper division of the lathe of Scray, E division of Kent, 5 miles SW from Faversham. [1]

Eastling is a village and civil parish in the Swale district of Kent, see Eastling Wikipedia

Eastling St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury and is part of the benefice of Eastling and Stalisfield with Otterden.

The Church of St Mary, Kettle Hill Road, Eastling has been designated as a grade II* listed building; parts of the tower date from the 11th century. The 12th century church has been extended in subsequent centuries and was restored by R.C.Hussey in 1855-1856. British listed building.

See Edward Hasted, "The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent": Volume 6 (1798), pp. 422-437 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See Faversham Registration District

Kent County Council

Registration Services
Invicta House
County Hall
Maidstone
Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400 http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually. Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)Eastling parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2][3][4]
Eastling Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1812 1559-1812 1754-1823 (Banns) 1754-1823 (Banns) 1558-1926 1558-1926

Land Tax[edit | edit source]

Images for Eastling are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments - FamilySearch Historical Records 1780-1832

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Eastling 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable).

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 129-132. Date accessed: 25 July 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.