To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Eastry, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Eastry, Kent)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Eastry, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Eastry, Kent
Eastry St Mary the Virgin Kent.jpg
Eastry St Mary the Virgin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eastry
County Kent
Poor Law Union Eastry
Registration District Eastry
Records begin
Parish registers: 1559
Bishop's Transcripts: 1564
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sandwich
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

EASTRY (St. Mary), a parish, and the head of a union, partly in the hundred of Downhamford, but chiefly in that of Eastry, lathe of St. Augustine, E division of Kent, 2¾ miles SW. by S from Sandwich.[1]

Eastry is a village and civil parish in the Dover district of Kent, see Eastry Wikipedia

Eastry St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish; the church stands on the site of a former Saxon Church and dates from about 1230.

The Palace of the Saxon kings was in Eastry. King Ecgberht Of Kent's cousins were murdered here in 665 and legend has it that the royal residence was passed to Christchurch in Canterbury as penance for the crime. The site of the palace is believed to have been at Eastry Court. Two Saxon burial sites in the village from this period have been excavated.

The parish church of St Mary the Virgin has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The village was the birthplace of Henry of Eastry, Prior of Christ Church, Canterbury 1285-1333, in whose honour the Cathedral tower in Canterbury bears the name “Bell Harry”.

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 10 (1800), pp. 98-121 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Eastry Registration District and Thanet Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Eastry parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2][3][4]
Eastry Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1559-1912 1559-1912 1559-1928 1559-1928 1559-1853 1559-1853

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 132-136. Date accessed: 25 July 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.