To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Eastwell, Kent Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Eastwell, Kent)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Eastwell, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Eastwell, Kent
Eastwell St Mary Ruins Kent.jpg
Eastwell St Mary Ruins Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wye
County Kent
Poor Law Union East Ashford
Registration District East Ashford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Canterbury
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Parish History[edit | edit source]

EASTWELL (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of East Ashford, hundred of Wye, lathe of Shepway, E division of Kent, 3¼ miles N from Ashford.[1]
Eastwell is a village and civil parish in the Borough of Ashford Kent , see Eastwell Kent Wikipedia

Eastwell St Mary was an Ancient Parish in the Ashford District of Kent.

The mediaeval church was seriously damaged in the Second World War and was left in ruins. It is in the care of the Friends of Friendless Churches Friends of Friendless Churches Wikipedia. Three monuments from the church were rescued and are now at the Victoria and Albert Museum London.

The ruins of the Church of St Mary, Eastwell have been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See Boughton Aluph, Kent which includes Eastwell within its boundary, a map of the parish and its three churches may be viewed at A church near you

The Church of St Christopher Eastwell was originally a domestic building and now a church and has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted, The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 398-412 Eastwell St Mary at British History Online for a history of Eastwell and the now ruined church and Kent Churches website.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

See East Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House (Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Eastwell parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = findmypast - (£)[2][3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[6]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[7]
Eastwell Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1538-1911
1539-1833
1539-1950
FREG
1754-1837

MIDK 1754-1911
NBI

1813-1837

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Original deposited registers were formerly held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX

From Spring 2012 material formerly held at
Centre for Kentish Studies, County Hall, Maidstone, Kent ME14 1XX
is available at Kent History and Library Centre see Kent Archives which also enables a search of the catalogue for Kent Archives material deposited at Canterbury Cathedral Archives

  • Family History Library film numbers
    Eastwell

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census returns for Eastwell 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]

Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Local Family History Centre[edit | edit source]

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 132-136. Date accessed: 25 July 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.
  7. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 3 November 2013.

To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.