Edburton, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to East Edburton, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Steyning|
|Parish registers: 1558|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1662|
|Rural Deanery||South Malling|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury for the Exempt Deanery of South Malling|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
EDBURTON (St. Andrew), a parish, in the union of Steyning, partly in the hundred of Poynings, rape of Lewes, E. division, and partly in the hundred of Burbeach, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 4 miles (E.) from Steyning; containing, with the hamlet of Fulking.
Edburton St Andrew is an Ancient Parish in West Sussex and includes in its boundaries Fulking.
A history of the church is available Edburton St Andrew
The church of St Andrew Edburton Village Upper Beeding has been designated as a Grade II* listed building British listed building
See also Edburton Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning registration district until the 1935 reorganisation of registration services parts of this parish were in East Sussex until the whole parish was administered by West Sussex.
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralized Certificates Office Registration Service West Sussex Record Office County Hall Chichester PO19 1RN Phone: 01243 642122
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Edburton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Edburton Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformists (All other Religions)[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites [edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A.,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 139-144. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
- Searching Parish Records online (Sussex) - The Following Parishes are Available at TheGenealogist, ParishRegister.co.uk, accessed 23 April 2019.