Edwinstowe, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Edwinstowe, Nottinghamshire ancestry family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Edwinstowe St+Mary Nottinghamshire
|Poor Law Union||Southwell|
|Registration District||Southwell; Worksop|
|Parish registers: 1634|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1609|
|Probate Court||Court of the Manor of Edwinstowe|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
EDWINSTOWE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Southwell, Hatfield division of the hundred of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 1½ mile (W. by S.) from Ollerton; comprising the townships of Budby, Clipstone, and Edwinstowe, and the chapelries of Carburton, Ollerton, and Perlethorpe. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Edwinstowe, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|Edwinstowe, Nottinghamshire Genealogy Online Parish Records|
- Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Edwinstowe
- Link to Google Books - The Registers of Edwinstow in the county of Nottingham 1634-1758
Edwinstowe - St Mary's Monumental Inscriptions. A transcription of the Memorial Inscriptions of the headstone in Edwinstowe - St. Mary, dating from 1747, in alphabetical order, giving surname, given name, date and age of person. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 91, pages 1-19, Family History Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Occupation[edit | edit source]
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Societies and Fraternal Institutions[edit | edit source]
Transcribed by Woodhead, Margaret. Edwin Lodge of the Nottingham Ancient Imperial United Order of Oddfellows. Benevolent Fund Members 1833-1844.A listing containing date, forename, surname, village, age and Occupation dating from 1833-1844. Available at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD 77/I, and Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.99, pages 43-46, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Websites[edit | edit source]
Edwinstowe in GENUKI: Edwinstowe
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..