Ekerö Parish, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Ekerö Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Drottningholm Church
Old Ekerö Church



History[edit | edit source]

Ekerö is the only municipality in the Lake Mälaren region composed exclusively of islands. Land elevation has reduced the number of islands and skerries.
Originally, when the first local government acts were implemented in Sweden in 1863, eight rural municipalities were created, each corresponding to an old parish.The municipal reform of 1952 grouped them in two new larger entities. The next reform in 1971 merged them into the present municipality.
[1]

Ekerö Parish, Stockholm, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift -1942 Uppsala ärkestift, 1942- Stockholm
Pastorat -1961 Ekerö, 1962- Mother parish in Ekerö, Adelsö, Munsö and Lovö pastorat.
Län 1634-1639 Uppsala, 1640-1647 Stockholm, 1648-1651 Uppsala, 1652-1653 Stockholm, 1654-1665 Uppsala, 1666-1718 Svartsjö (part of Livgedinget), 1719-1785 Stockholm, 1786-1809 Svartsjö, 1810- Stockholm
Landskap Uppland
Härad Färentuna
Tingslag -1906 Färentuna härad, 1907-1915 Södra Roslags domsaga, 1916-1970 Sollentuna och Färentuna domsaga
Domsaga 1665-1843 see Adelsö, 1844-1915 Södra Roslag, 1916-1976 Sollentuna och Färentuna, 1977- Solna
Fögderi 1720-1881 see Adelsö, 1882-1966 Svartsjö, 1967- Solna
Kommun 1863-1951 Ekerö, 1952- Ekerö (storkommun)
Militär indelning SÖDRA ROSLAGS ANDRA BÅTSMANSKOMPANI, Extra Båtsmans-Roteringen
NAD Ref Code SE/SSA/1500
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Asknäs,

Barudden, Brink Närsta, Brink Stora Rastaborg, Brink Lilla Rastaborg, Brygga, Bryggarbacke, Björkfjellarna, Berkholms Sund, Bona,

Charlottendahl,

Dunderbacken,

Ekebyhof, Elfnäs, Engstugan öde,

Fantholmen, Färjan Norra, Färjan Södra, Fattigstugan,

Gälsta, Gälstaö #1, Gälstaö #2, Granbacken, Gräsbacken, Gräsåker, Gransta, Grind #1, Grind #2, Grindstugan Westra, Grindstugan Östra, Gåsmyra Stora, Gåsmyra Lilla,

Hagen, Hammarsund, Hummelvreten, Hvitskär eller Lurudden (Hvitskär or Lurudden),

Janstorp, Johannisberg #1, Johannisberg #2,

Kaggeholm, Kalfvik, Kanan, Kersö, Kersödrag, Kersökrog, Kersgata Westra, Kersgata Östra, Kilen, Kina, Klockaregården, Knalleborg, Knösen, Kohlbotten, Källtorp,

Lilljedahl, Lillskog, London, Lovisedahl, Lugnet, Lundhagen, Lurudden, Långhäll, Långnäset, Löflund, Löfskogen, Lönviken, Lybeck,

Malmen, Marieberg, Menhamra, Mårtenstorp,

Nain, Norrskog, Nybble, Nyckelby #1 west gård, Nyckelby #2 östra gård, Närlunda, Närfsta, Närfstalund eller Backstugan (Närfstalund or Backstugan),

Odelmarken,

Prestgården, Punga,

Qvarnberget,

Rastaborg, Rosendahl, Rösten,

Sanda, Sandstugan, Sanvikstorp, Sandudden, Sandåsen, Skäludden, Skuggrik, Skytteholm, Solberga, Solvik, Stafsund, Stenbacka, Sundby, Swarfwartorp, Swentorp, Sätra gård, Sätra Tegelbruk, Sylta,

Tappström, Trägv. Nedergård #1, #2, Trägv. Mellangård #1, #2, Trägv. Westergården, Trägv. Uppgård #1, #2, Tranholmen, Tegelviken #1, #2,

Wrån, Wäsby,

Yttersta,

Åby, Åby #1, #2,

Älmohage,

Örsätra,

Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Stockholm Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Stockholm and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]

Ekerö parish, Husförhörslängd 1836-1840, AI;12, Ort register.

Riksarkivet. "Ekerö" Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). January 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/