Ekeskog Parish, Skaraborg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Ekeskog Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Ekeskog Parish, Skaraborg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Skara
Pastorat Before 1758, Ekeskog was an annex parish in Bällefors, Ekeskog and Tiberg (before 1703 called Hunnekulla) parish pastorate.

In 1758, the existing chapel at Ryholms manor was moved by Governor A. O. Lagerberg and was named Beateberg after his wife, Mrs. Beata Sparre. At the same time, Beateberg's parish was formed by those closest to the newly built church and formerly belonging to Bällefors and Ekeskog. The old Tiberg, whose name before 1703 was Hunnekulla parish, was added to Bällefors in ecclesiastical terms. Between 1758 and 1961, Ekeskog was an annex parish in the pastorate of Bällefors, Ekeskog and Beateberg parishes.

Since 1 January 1962, Ekeskog has been an annex parish in Fägre, Trästena, Bällefors, Ekeskog, Beateberg, Hjälstad, Sveneby and Mo parishes' pastorate
Län Skaraborg
Landskap Västergötland
Härad Vadsbo (Valla tingslag)
Tingslag -1890 Valla, 1891-1947 Vadsbo södra, 1948-1970 Vadsbo
Domsaga Mariestad
Fögderi -1854 Vadsbo, 1855-1917 Södra Vadsbo, 1918-1946 Skövde, 1946-1966 Töreboda
Kommun 1952-1970 Moholm Landskommun, 1971- Töreboda
Militär indelning SKARABORGS REGEMENTE, Södra Vadsbo Kompani, Extra Soldat-Roteringen


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Abberud Lilla, Abberud Stora, Abberuds kvarn, Abrahamstorp, Andersberg, Anderstorp, Arvidstorp, Askliden

Backa Lilla, Backa Stora, Backegården Rya, Backen, Baggebo, Beatebergstorp, Beatelund, Bengtstorp, Berget, Björkäng, Blombacken, Blomsterhult, Bolet, Bolstorp, Bondtorp, Braxbolet Lilla, Braxbolet Stora, Braxbolskvarn, Brobacka, Brunstorp

Ebbhult, Eskelidsbygget, Espelund

Falla, Fattigstugan, Fredriksberg

Galleråsen, Grindstugan, Gubbetorp Lilla, Gäddehemmet, Gäddenäs Jungfrugården, Gäddenäs Sörgården, Gäddenäs Västergården, Gäddenäs

Hagen, Hattorp, Henrikstorp under Måryd, Henrikstorp under Ryholm, Hjortstorp, Hogsan, Hogsmossen, Hogsåsen, Honungsberget, Hultastugan, Hultet, Hultåsen, Hästhagen

Jonstorp, Jungfrugården, Jättefallet

Kaggafallet, Kalfjället, Kanterud, Karlås, Kassuben, Klämmestorp, Kockatorp, Kojan, Korsvägen, Kullerud, Kvarnen Vräkfors, Kvarnlyckan, Källstorp

Lagerfors, Larstorp, Ledshemmet, Lerknulten, Libäck, Liden, Lilla Abberud, Lilla Backa, Lilla Braxbolet, Lilla Gubbetorp, Lilla Lindhult, Lilla Skogatorp, Lindhult Lilla, Lindhult Stora, Lindåsen under Gäddenäs, Lindåsen under Önnerud, Lund, Lövvassa, Lövåsen

Magderud, Mellangården, Mon, Moskau, Mossen, Mullsjön, Myckeltorp, Måryd, Mårydskvarn, Måsen

Nilstorp, Nordgården Rya, Norrfjäll, Nybygget, Nyråsen, Nyängen

Persbo, Perstorp under Måryd, Perstorp under Rya, Perstorp under Stora Lindhult, Pommern, Prästbacka, Pukerud, Pulsängen, Pölen

Rosendal, Rya Backegården, Rya Mellangården, Rya Nordgården, Rya Sörgården, Ryholm, Råsa

Sandåsen, Sikan, Skogatorp Lilla, Skogatorp Stora, Skogen, Skogsbolet, Skolebacken, Slätterna, Spakås, Spanskholmen, Spetsbolet, Stenklämma, Stensrud, Stenstorp, Stenåsen, Stora Abberud, Stora Backa, Stora Braxbolet, Stora Lindhult, Stora Skogstorp, Stora Stubbetorp, Stubbetorp, Sven Månstorp, Svärtebäck, Sägarebacken, Sörgården Gäddenäs, Sörgården Rya

Tegelbruket, Tegelslagartorp, Tomtåsen, Tranemon, Trapp, Tripp, Trull, Truva, Trånga

Vargevadet, Vargängen, Vräk-fors kvarn, Välfällan, Västerflyttan, Västergården

Årloppet, Åsen

Ängafallet, Ängatorpet, Änggården, Äskelidsbygget, Äspelund

Ölmestorp, Önnerud, Örlåsen, Österflyttan



Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Skaraborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Skaraborg and then select your parish.


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies


References[edit | edit source]

Ekeskog, Husförhörslängd 1822-1840, Ortregister