Ellesmere, Shropshire Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Ellesmere, Shropshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Ellesmere, Shropshire
Ellesmere church.png
Type England Jurisdictions
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Maylor; Pimhill
County Shropshire, England Genealogy
Poor Law Union Ellesmere
Registration District Ellesmere
Records begin
Parish registers: 1654
Bishop's Transcripts: 1630
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ellesmere
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Manor of Ellesmere
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office
v • d • e

Parish History[edit | edit source]

In 1848 - ELLESMERE (St. Mary), a market-town and parish, and the head of a union, chiefly in the hundred of Pimhill, N. division of Shropshire, 16½ miles (N. N. W.) from Shrewsbury, and 178½ (N. W.) from London; with a portion of the parish in Flintshire.[1]

Ellesmere (Anglo-Saxon: Aelsmere) is a small market town and parish in the Shropshire, England on the border with Wales. The area is known as ‘Shropshire’s Lakeland’ and the town is located by the side of 'The Mere'. This is one of nine glacial meres in the area, the others being Blakemere, Colemere, Crosemere, Kettlemere, Newtonmere, Whitemere, Sweatmere and Hanmer Mere.

Part of this parish was in Flintshire, Wales. See also Ellesmere, Flintshire.

A castle existed in Ellesmere probably as far back as the 11th-century.

In 1114, Henry I of England gave Ellesmere to William Peverel as a part of the Maelor. His descendants retained Ellesmere until around the late 1140's when the lordship was acquired by Madog ap Maredudd of Powys. Madog died in 1160 and Ellesmere came into the hands of Henry II of England.
In 1177 Henry II of England gave the manor of Ellesmere to Dafydd ab Owain Gwynedd who was, by this time, the sole ruler of Gwynedd. Dafydd remained lord of Ellesmere until his death in 1203.
In 1205, Llywelyn Fawr received Ellesmere as a wedding gift and retained control of the lordship until his death in 1240. The lordship then appears to have later passed into the hands of Llywelyn ap Gruffydd or his brother Dafydd ap Gruffydd, grandsons of Llywelyn Olaf. The castle eventually fell to the English in March 1282.

Ellesmere was annexed to Shropshire in 1535. It was part of the Hundred of Pimhill.

The ancient parish included the townships of Ellesmere, Colemere, Crickett, Criftins, Eastwick, Elson-with-Greenhill, Birch and Lythe, Cockshutt and Crosemere, Frankton, Hamptons Wood, Hardwick, Kenwicks with Stockett and Whettall, Kenwicks Park, Kenwicks Wood, Lee, Lyneal, New Marton, Newnes, Northwood, Oteley with Newton and Spoonhill, Ridges, Stocks with Coptivinney, Tetchill with French, and the chapelry of Dudleston. It also included the chapelry of Penley in Flintshire.

Resources[edit | edit source]

Ellesmere Canal[edit | edit source]

In 1791 a meeting took place at Ellesmere to propose the construction of a canal from Netherpool (which later became known as Ellesmere Port) on the River Mersey to the River Dee at Chester and then via Overton on to the River Severn at Shrewsbury, Shropshire Genealogy. This canal would have branches to nearby iron making and coal mining areas.
The canal that was eventually constructed was very different from what was originally envisioned. By 1795 the proposed main route had been moved further to the west in order to take in the industrial areas around Ruabon and Wrexham, Wales Genealogy. The Ellesmere Canal was eventually constructed in sections, with Thomas Telford as engineer, but the original goal was never reached. The canal was terminated at Pontcysyllte near Ruabon where a feeder branch was constructed along the Dee valley to the Horseshoe Falls at Llantisilio, near Llangollen. The final section linking Ruabon to Chester was never constructed, neither was the link south to Shrewsbury.
Today this section is known as the Llangollen Canal and is used mainly for leisure purposes and runs from Llangollen, Pontcysyllte, Chirk, Ellesmere, Bettisfield, Whitchurch, Marbury, Wrenbury and Hurleston, where it joins the Shropshire Union Canal.

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


The parish of Ellesmere formed part of the Oswestry Registrar's District.

Year Piece Folios
1841    
1851    
1861    
1871    
1881    
1891    
1901    

Church Records[edit | edit source]

The following records of Ellesmere are available on the IGI:

Church Type Years Batch Number
The Blessed Virgin Mary Baptisms 1757-1812 C037421
The Blessed Virgin Mary Baptisms 1813-1875 C037422
The Blessed Virgin Mary Baptisms 1663-1757 C037423
The Blessed Virgin Mary Baptisms 1630-1664 C037424
The Blessed Virgin Mary Marriages 1737-1812 M037421
The Blessed Virgin Mary Marriages 1813-1836 M037422
The Blessed Virgin Mary Marriages 1654-1737 M037423
The Blessed Virgin Mary Marriages 1630-1664 & 1685-1699 M037424
The Blessed Virgin Mary Mixed   E037423
The Blessed Virgin Mary Mixed   E037424

Ellesmere, Shropshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Shropshire Records (findmypast) - (£)[2][3][4][5]
Ellesmere, Shropshire Genealogy Parish (1558) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

 Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1630-1880 Marr 1630-1886 Bur 1630-1878

Nonconformist Church Records[edit | edit source]

The following records of Ellesmere are available on the IGI:

Church Type Years Batch Number
Ellesmere Independent Chapel Baptisms 1812-1837 C016402
Ellesmere Independent Chapel Mixed 1787-1811 P016401

Civil Records[edit | edit source]

The parish of Ellesmere originally formed part of the Ellesmere Registration District but was later incorporated into the Oswestry Registration District.

Years District Sub-district Volumes
1837-1935 Ellesmere Ellesmere XVIII (1837-51)
6a (1852-1935)
1935-1974 Ellesmere Oswestry 6a (1935-1946)
9A (1946-74)

Websites[edit | edit source]

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/Ellesmere/index.html

References[edit | edit source]

  1. ↑ Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 158-161. Date accessed: 10 July 2012.
  2. ↑ 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. ↑ 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. ↑ 'Shropshire Banns 1760-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. ↑ 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' findmypast, accessed 28 April 2014.
v • d • e
Links to Shropshire, England Genealogy-related articles
Topics
Parishes

Abdon  • Acton Burnell  • Acton Round  • Acton Scott  • Adderley  • Alberbury  • Albrighton (near Shiffnal)  • Albrighton (near Shrewsbury)  • Alveley  • Ash (Little Ash)  • Ashford Bowdler  • Ashford Carbonell  • Astley  • Astley Abbots  • Aston Botterell  • Aston Eyre  • Atcham  • Badger  • Barrow  • Baschurch  • Battlefield  • Bayston Hill  • Beckbury  • Bedstone  • Benthall  • Berrington  • Bettws y Crwyn  • Bewdley  • Bicton  • Billingsley  • Bishop's Castle  • Bitterley  • Bobbington  • Bolas Magna  • Boningale  • Boraston  • Boscobel  • Bourton  • Bridgnorth St Leonard  • Bridgnorth St Mary Magdalen  • Bromfield  • Broseley  • Broughton  • Bucknell  • Buildwas  • Burford  • Burwarton  • Calverhall  • Cardeston  • Cardington  • Caynham  • Chelmarsh  • Cheswardine  • Chetton  • Chetwynd  • Child's Ercall  • Chirbury  • Church Aston  • Church Preen  • Church Pulverbach  • Churchstoke  • Church Stretton with All Stretton and Little Stretton  • Claverley  • Clee  • Clee St. Margaret  • Cleobury Mortimer  • Cleobury North  • Clive  • Clun and Chapel Lawn  • Clunbury  • Clungunford  • Coalbrookdale  • Cockshutt  • Cold Weston  • Condover  • Coreley  • Cound  • Cressage  • Culmington  • Dawley, Great  • Dawley, Little  • Dawley Hamlets  • Dawley Magna  • Dawley Parva  • Diddlebury  • Dinmore  • Ditton Priors  • Dodington  • Donington  • Donington Wood  • Dorrington  • Dowles  • Dudleston  • Easthope  • Eaton Constantine  • Eaton under Heywood  • Edgmond  • Edgton  • Edstaston  • Ellesmere  • Ercall Magna  • Eyton Upon the Weald Moors  • Far Forest  • Farlow  • Fauls Holy Immanuel  • Fitz  • Ford  • Frodesley  • Glazeley and Deuxhill  • Great Bolas  • Great Hanwood  • Great Ness  • Great Wollaston  • Greete  • Grinshill  • Habberley  • Hadley  • Hadnall  • Halford  • Harley  • Haughton Demesne  • Heath  • Highley  • Hill End  • Hinstock  • Hodnet  • Holdgate  • Hope Bagot  • Hope Bowdler  • Hopesay  • Hopton Cangeford  • Hopton Castle  • Hopton Wafers  • Horderley Hall  • Hordley  • Hughley  • Hyssington  • Ightfield  • Ironbridge  • Jackfield  • Kemberton  • Kenley  • Ketley  • Kinlet  • Kinnerley  • Knockin  • Knowbury  • Kynnersley  • Lawley  • Leaton  • Lee Brockhurst  • Leebotwood  • Leighton  • Leintwardine with Adforton  • Lilleshall  • Lilleshall St George (Pains Lane)  • Linley  • Little Drayton  • Little Ness  • Little Wenlock  • Llanfair Waterdine  • Llansilin  • Llanyblodwel  • Llanymynech  • Longdon upon Tern  • Longford  • Longnor  • Loppington  • Loughton  • Ludford  • Ludlow  • Ludlow Castle  • Lydbury North  • Lydham  • Madeley  • Maesbrook  • Mainstone  • Malins Lee  • Market Drayton  • Melverley  • Meole Brace  • Middleton  • Middleton Scriven  • Milson  • Millbrook  • Minsterley  • Monkhopton  • Montford  • More  • Moreton Corbet  • Moreton Say  • Morville  • Much Wenlock  • Munslow  • Myddle  • Myndtown  • Nash  • Neen Savage  • Neen Sollars  • Neenton  • Newcastle  • Newport  • Newtown  • Norbury  • Norton in Hales  • Old Church Moor  • Oldbury  • Onibury  • Oswestry  • Oswestry Holy Trinity  • Pattingham  • Petton  • Pitchford  • Pontesbury  • Posenhall  • Prees  • Preston Gubbals  • Preston upon the Weald Moors  • Priors Lee  • Quatford  • Quatt  • Quatt Malvern  • Ratlinghope  • Rhydycroseau  • Richard's Castle  • Rodington  • Rowton  • Rushbury  • Ruyton of the Eleven Towns  • Ryton  • Sambrook  • Selattyn  • Shawbury  • Sheinton  • Shelve  • Sheriffhales  • Shifnal  • Shipton  • Shrawardine  • Shrewsbury Holy Cross with St Giles  • Shrewsbury Holy Trinity  • Shrewsbury St Alkmund  • Shrewsbury St Chad  • Shrewsbury St George  • Shrewsbury St Julian  • Shrewsbury St Mary  • Shrewsbury St Michael  • Sibdon Carwood  • Sidbury  • Silvington  • Skirmage  • Smethcott  • St Martin's  • Stanton Lacy  • Stanton Long  • Stanton upon Hine Heath  • Stapleton  • Stirchley  • Stockton  • Stoke St. Milborough  • Stoke upon Tern  • Stokesay  • Stottesdon  • Stowe  • Sutton  • Sutton Maddock  • Tasley  • Tibberton  • Tilstock  • Tong  • Trefonen  • Tugford  • Uffington  • Uppington  • Upton Cressett  • Upton Magna  • Waters Upton  • Wellington  • Welshampton  • Wem  • Wentnor  • Westbury  • West Felton  • Weston Lullingfield  • Weston Rhyn  • Weston under Redcastle  • Wheathill  • Whitchurch  • Whittington  • Whitton  • Whixall  • Willey  • Wistanstow  • Withington  • Wombridge  • Woodcote  • Woodhouse  • Woolstaston  • Woore  • Worfield  • Worthen  • Wrockwardine  • Wrockwardine Wood  • Wroxeter

Probate
Courts
Major
 Repositories
Retrieved from "https://wwwp.familysearch.org/wiki/en/index.php?title=Ellesmere,_Shropshire_Genealogy&oldid=2856673"