Elsted with Treyford and Didling, Sussex Genealogy
Guide to Elsted with Treyford, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Elsted with Treyford and Didling, Sussex|
|Poor Law Union||Midhurst|
|Parish registers: 1571; Separate registers exist for Treyford beginning 1728 and also for Didling beginning 1716|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1592; Separate records exist for Treyford beginning 1573|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ELSTEAD, a parish, in the union of Midhurst, hundred of Dumpford, rape of Chichester, W. division of Sussex, 4½ miles (W. by S.) from Midhurst.
Elsted St Paul is an Ancient parish in the civil parish of Elsted with Treyford in the Chichester district of West Sussex. The parish includes Treyford and Didling
The Parish Church of St Paul Elsted has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
The ruined church of St Mary Trelford has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Treyford St Peter Sussex Online Parish Clerks (OPC) built 1849 demolished 1951
See also Elsted and Treyford Wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 the history of civil registration can be found at Midhurst registration district
Certificates can be ordered from West Sussex Centralised Certificates Office
West Sussex Record Office
Phone: 01243 642122
Church records[edit | edit source]
Elsted parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|ELSTED PARISH Online Records|
|IGI||1571-1849, 1875-1886||1575-1697, 1709-1849, 1874-1875|
Treyford cum Didling parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Treyford cum Didling Parish Online Records|
|PRTS||1573-1615, 1622-1640, 1663-1910||1614-1901||1573-1615, 1622-1640, 1663-1910|
Treyford parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Treyford Parish Online Records|
Didling parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Didling Parish Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Elsted with Treyford and Didling
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A. A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 164-167. Date Accessed: 4 October 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 30 December 2013.
- Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Sussex, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 31 December 2013.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.
- 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 15 December 2013.
- Sussex Online Parish Clerks, accessed 7 January 2014.
To access available information, first log into FamilySearch.