Elton on the Hill, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Elton on the Hill, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Parish History[edit | edit source]
|Elton on the Hill, Nottinghamshire|
Elton-on-the-Hill St Michael and All Angels Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Bingham|
|Parish registers: 1592|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
ELTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the union, and N. division of the wapentake, of Bingham, S. division of the county of Nottingham, 4¼ miles (E. by S.) from Bingham. 
Elton on the Hill St Michael and All Archangels is an Ancient Parish.
The church is 12th century in origin and was restored in 1855-1857 and has been designated a grade II listed building British listed building
Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the history of this church and parish Elton St Michael
See also Elton-on-the-Hill wikipedia
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Elton on the Hill, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|ELTON ON THE HILL PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Elton on the Hill
Elton on the Hill. A transcription of memorial inscriptions in the churchyard, dating from 1728, giving surname, given name, date of death, and age. The original is held at the Nottinghamshire Archives Ref DD/TS 19/8 page 6, and is also in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 64, page 6, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n vol. 82 pages 12-14, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records<[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
See Elton in GENUKI:
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..