Ely, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Ely, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Ely|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Ely (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
ELY, a city, in the Isle of Ely, county of Cambridge, 16 miles NNE from Cambridge, and 67 N by E from London. The city, exclusively of the extra-parochial liberty of the College, comprises the parish of St. Mary, which, with the chapelry of Chettisham, and the parish of Holy Trinity, with the chapelry of Stuntney. There are places of worship for Baptists, the Countess of Huntingdon's Connexion, Independents, and Wesleyans. 
Ely, also known as the Isle of Ely, consisted historically of three ecclesiastical parishes:
- The Cathedral
- Holy Trinity
- St Mary
It also consisted of lands outside of the city and attached to Trinity and Mary parishes. It was called the Isle of Ely because the city sat atop high ground surrounded by marshes that were later drained.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Ely parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Ely Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- Primitive Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Ely Holy Trinity on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 167-173. Date accessed and adapted: 03 July 2013.