Enånger Parish, Gävleborg, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Enånger Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Enånger Church
Old Enånger Church



History[edit | edit source]

(write information such as: how old the parish is, interesting facts about the parish, what alternate names it has, or any boundary changes.)

Enånger Parish, Gävleborg, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärke
Pastorat -1798 Enånger och Njutånger, 1798-06-12-1915 Enånger, Njutånger och Nianfors, 1915-05-01- Enånger
Län -1762 Västernorrland, 1762- Gävleborg
Landskap Hälsingland
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1947 Enångers, 1948-1970 Sydöstra Hälsinglands domsagas
Domsaga -1770 Hälsinglands, 1771-1906 Hälsinglands norra, 1907-1970 Sydöstra Hälsinglands, 1971- Hudiksvalls tingsrätt
Fögderi -1917 Norra Hälsingland
Kommun 1863-1962 Enånger, 1963-1970 Iggesund, 1971- Hudiksvall
Militär indelning 1:a Norrlands 1:adels Kompani, Nya Ord. Båtsmans-Roteringen, Extra Båtsmans-Roteringen
NAD Ref Code SE/HLA/1010035
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Boda Bruk ( Boda Mill ), Boda by ( Boda village ), Borka, Bro, Båtsmän, Bäckmora västra ( Bäckmora west), Bäckmora östra ( Bäckmora east), Bölan västra ( Bölan west ), Bölan östra ( Bölan east)

Fattigstugan, Finnika västra ( Finnika west ), Finnika östra ( Finnika east), Fläcka, Försvarslösa ( innocent defenseless people)

Grängsjö, Grängsjö Lövås, Grängsjö Tolocka

Haga, Heda, Holmen, Hålsänge, Hökberg

Kårmo, Källan

Leppje, Långvinds Bruk ( Långvinds mill ), Långvinds by ( Långvinds village ), Lövås

Myra västra ( Myra west), Myra östra ( Myra east)

Nora, Nyåker

Oppänge

Prästgården, Prästgården Kårmo

Rösånger

Skärve, Sveden, Svedja, Sätra

Tolocka, Tosätter västra ( Tosätter west ), Tosätter östra ( Tosätter east ), Tytterön

Uppänge

Vedmora, Västra Bäckmora ( West Bäckmora ), Västra Bölan, Västra finnika, Västra Myra (Västermyra), Västra Tosätter

Åkre, Änga

Östby, Östra Bäskmora, Östra Bölan, Östra Finnika, Östra Myra (Östermyra), Östra Tosätter

Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Gävleborg Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Gävleborg" and then select your parish.


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]

Engånger Husförhörslängder 1835-1840 AI:9a and AI:9b, Ort register

Jurisdictional Information from: Riksarkivet. "Enånger Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD).January2015 https://sok.riksarkivet.se/