Enköping Parish, Uppsala, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Enköping Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

History[edit | edit source]

This parish broke off of Vårfrukyrka in about 1300 and was called Sankt Ilian. Shortly after another parish was broke off from this one and was called Sankt Olof.
Sankt Ilian was renamed in 1548 and called Enköping. In 1548 Sankt Olof dissolved as the parish was recombined with Enköping.
[1]

Enköping Parish, Uppsala, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Uppsala ärkestift, 1989- Uppsala
Pastorat -1967 Enköping and Vårfrukyrka, 1968- Enköping
Län 1634- Uppsala
Landskap Uppland
Härad not applicable
Tingslag -1962 Enköpings stad (under rådhusrätten), 1963-1970 Trögd
Domsaga -1962 Enköpings stad (under rådhusrätten), 1963-1980 Uppsala läns södra, 1980- Enköping
Fögderi -1946 Enköpings stad (under uppbördsväsendet), 1946-1966 Trögd, 1967- Enköping
Kommun -1970 Enköpings stad, 1971- Enköping
Militär indelning Uplands Regemente: Enköpings Kompani, Extra Soldat-Roteringen
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/10206
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Enköping was divided into various districts (rotar).  Each district (rote) was divided into sections (qvarter) and each "qvarter" was given a number.

Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Uppsala Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you. Click on "Places within Sweden, Uppsala and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]

Riksarkivet. "Enköping Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/

Skatteverket. "Enköping." Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). March 2011 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna

Enköping (Sankt Illian), Husförhörslängd 1838-1842, Ortregister