Enterprise Indian Rancheria (California)

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Native American Topics
BuffaloHunters.jpg
Buffalo Hunt under the Wolf-Skin Mask
Beginning Research
Tribes
Record Types
Bureau of Indian Affairs
Other Topics


Guide to Maidu Indian ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and other agency records.

Tribal Headquarters[edit | edit source]

Enterprise Rancheria of Estom Yumeka Maidu
3690 Olive Highway
Oroville, CA 95966
Phone: 1.530.532.9214
Fax: 1.530.532.1768
Website: www.enterpriserancheria.org  

The Enterprise Rancheria is a federally-recognized rancheria located in Butte County, California.

Established -- January 30, 1897
Agency (BIA) -- Central California Agency
Principal tribes -- Maidu
Population -- 1969 Tribal enrollment 112 [1]

History[edit | edit source]

1897 Secretary of the Interior authorized to use former lands of the Fort Bidwell Military Reserve for an Indian training school

Records[edit | edit source]

Land records: 3,335 acres, land is tribally owned.

Websites[edit | edit source]

For Further Reading[edit | edit source]

  • Kroeber, Alfred L. Handbook of the Indians of California. Washington D.C.:Smithsonian Institution, Bureau of American Ethnology, Bulletin 78, 1925. Reprint. New York City: Dover Publications, [ca 2006] WorldCat 255854981 Available online.

For background information to help find American Indian ancestors see For Further Reading.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Indian Reservations A State and Federal Handbook. Compiled by The Confederation of American Indians, New York, N.Y. McFarland and Co. Inc., Jefferson, North Carolina, c. 1986. FHL book 970.1 In2