|Episcopal Diocese of South Carolina Archives
E-mail: firstname.lastname@example.org Mrs. Beth Snyder
- Diocesan House
- 126 Coming Street
- Charleston, SC 29403
Telephone:</ref> 843-722-4075, Fax: 843-723-7628
Map and public transportation:
- Map: Google map.
- Public transportation: CARTA trolley routes stop within three blocks:
- trolley route 210 Warren Street and St. Philip Street
- trolley route 211 King Street and Warren Street
- trolley route 213 King Street and Warren Street
Internet sites and databases: Diocese of South Carolina (official site)
- See also: FamilySearch Wiki South Carolina Church Records - Church of England (Anglican, Protestant Episcopal).
Many original Church of England (Episcopal Church) records dating from South Carolina's colonial period (1706-1778) are kept at this facility. The colonial government until 1785 requested the help of local Episcopal parishes in certain functions including record keeping. All surviving colonial parish registers have been published in South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine (FHL Book 975.7 B2s) WorldCat entry, or in book form.
For a descriptive inventory of surviving colonial and more recent parish records, see Margaretta Childs, and Isabella G. Leland, "South Carolina Episcopal Church Records," South Carolina Historical and Genealogical Magazine 84 (October 1983): 250-63. (FHL Book 975.7 B2s v. 84), WorldCat entry, digital version at JSTOR ($).
For citations of most individually published parish registers, see each parish's Wiki page: All Saints · Christ Church · Prince Frederick · Prince George · Prince William · St. Andrew's · St. Bartholomew's · St. David's · St. George Dorchester · St. Helena's · St. James Goose Creek · St. James Santee · St. John's Berkeley · St. John's Colleton · St. Luke's · St. Mark's · St. Matthew's · St. Michael's · St. Paul's · St. Peter's · St. Philip's · St. Stephen's · St. Thomas and St. Denis
If you cannot visit or find a source at the Episcopal Diocese of South Carolina Archives, a similar source may be available at one of the following.
- Archives of the Episcopal Church, Austin, TX, has records of national officers. Most parish register birth, marriage, and death records remain at the parish level.
- Historical Charleston Foundation preservation, museums, events, experience history, media, shop.
- South Carolina Department of Archives and History federal and state censuses, county probate and land records, family histories, cemeteries, taxes, newspapers, equity court records, state death certificates.
- South Carolina Historical Society, Charleston, SC, diaries and papers, plantation, business, and church records, maps, plats, genealogies, 30,000 photos, 50,000 books, pamphlets, and serials.
- South Caroliniana Library (Univ. of SC, Columbia) 75,000 books/micrifilms, 1.3 manuscripts including genealogies, and the notable collections of Leonardo Andrea, Bessie Lee Garvin, and Louise K. Crowder.
- Charleston County Public Library SC Room records, Charleston Archives deaths 1819-1926. Databases: newspapers, Ancestry, Genealogy & Biography Master Index, biographies, African Americans.
- Charleston Museum Archives photos, Civil War and other military records, family papers.
- Charleston County Clerk of the Court magistrate, family, circuit, equity court records.
- Charleston County Probate Court with online marriage and will indexes.
- Charleston County Register of Deeds deeds, mortgages, plats, and liens with online indexes.
- Repositories in surrounding counties: Berkeley, Georgetown, Colleton, and Dorchester counties.
- Berkeley County Historical Society plantations, church, cemetery, & family records, articles, queries.
- Georgetown County Museum photos, cemeteries, Native Americans, slavery, plantations, military.
- Colleton County Historical and Preservation Society history, events, photos, contacts.
- South Carolina Genealogical Society, Edgefield, has a modest collection of family histories, genealogies, state and county record abstracts, county histories, local histories, and church histories.
- South Carolina State Museum, Columbia, Revolutionary and colonial, antebellum, Civil War, post Civil War, African American history.
- Repositories in other surrounding states: North Carolina, Georgia, and Tennessee.
- National Archives Southeast Region (Atlanta) (i.e. Morrow), federal censuses, Ancestry.com, military, pensions, bounty-land, photos, passengers arrival indexes, naturalizations, Native Americans, African Americans, workshops.
- State Library of N. Car., Raleigh, family history, Bibles, marriage, death, newspaper, deeds, photos.
- North Carolina State Archives, Raleigh, census, military, courts, bond, deed, estate, vital records, wills.
- Georgia Archives, Morrow, genealogies, county histories, newspapers, tax digests, private papers, church records, cemeteries, Bible records, a few municipal records, census, maps, land plats, photographs, Georgia Confederate service and pension records, colonial, headright, and bounty land grants, land lottery, and Georgia county records.
- Tennessee State Library and Archives, Nashville, vital records, censuses, county records, tax lists, local histories, school censuses, military records, Native Americans, newspapers, obituary lists, and maps.
- Dallas Public Central Library Texas, 111,700 volumes, 64,500 microfilms, 89,000 microfiche, and over 700 maps, marriage, probate, deed, and tax abstracts in book form, or microfilm of originals for some states, and online databases.