Ervalla Parish, Örebro, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Ervalla Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Ervalla Church

History[edit | edit source]

Ervalla parish dates back to the middle ages. The present (2012) church was completed in 1673. The building was renovated after a severe lightning strike in 1789. Other major work was done in 1900 and a few other times in the 1900s. A small village and a large manor house lie close to the church.

Endowed with mostly level ground, agriculture has long driven the local economy including the manor, Ervalla. Tingstorp had an iron works in 1883. Two early railroad lines converged here as early as 1856 with Dylta station (later called Ervalla station) and Jerle station. The parish includes a small river and a lake, Väringen, and two school houses were build in the later 1800s.

Population in 1883 was 1748 and in 2005, only 179.  About 15 km north from Örebro city.

Ervalla Parish, Örebro, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift -1961 Västerås, 1962- Strängnäs
Pastorat -1961 Näsby and Ervalla, 1962- Axberg, Hovsta, Kil and Ervalla
Län 1631-1638 Närke-Värmland, 1639-1653 Örebro, 1654-1778 Närke-Värmland, 1779- Örebro
Landskap Närke
Härad Fellingsbro
Tingslag -1898 Fellingsbro härad, 1899-1950 Lindes domsaga, 1951-1951 Lindes and Nora domsaga, 1952-1970 Östernärkes domsaga
Domsaga -1771 Norra Närke, 1772-1809 Örebro, Glanshammar and Fellingsbro, 1810-1854 Östernärke, 1855-1950 Linde, 1951-1951 Lindes and Nora, 1952-1970 Östernärke, 1971- Örebro
Fögderi 1720-1856 Östernärke, 1857-1946 Linde, 1946-1951 Nora, 1952- Örebro
Kommun 1863-1951 Ervalla, 1952-1970 Axberg, 1971- Örebro
Militär indelning Lif-Regementets Husar-Corps: Örebro Sqvadron, Fellingsbro Kompani, Vestmanlands Regemente: Kungsörs Kompani, -1791 Livregementet till Häst: Fellingsbro

kompani, -1893 Västmanlands Regemente: Kungsörs kompani, 1791-1796 Livregementsbrigadens Lätta-Dragon-Kår: Fellingsbro skvadron, 1796 1834 Livregements (Brigadens) Husarkår: Fellingsbro skvadron, 1834- Livregementetes Husarkår (Husarer):

Örebro skvadron, 1893- Livregementet till Fot:
NAD Ref Code SE/ULA/10219
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Anderstorp, Avdala, Axbergshammar

Backen, Baggetorp, Banvaktstuga, Basketorp, Basketorp (Lilla), Berg, Berget, Betlehem, Björkbacken, Björklund, Björktorp, Björntorp, Bredal, Bresund, Bäckfallet, Bäcktorp, Bästhult

Canaan

Elgtorpet, Eriksberg, Ervalla, Ervalla Gård, Ervalla Hammar

Fallet, Fattighuset, Flåten, Fredriksberg, Fridhem, Frugård, Frugård (Lilla), Furunäs

Geijerslund, Glömyra, Grindtorp, Gruvfallet

Hagby, Halvbacken, Halvgruvan, Hammar, Hult, Hult (Södra), Husartorp, Hälltorp, Hästhagen, Hökmyra/Hökmyren

Ivarstorp

Jeriko, Järle Station

Kanan, Klockaregården, Klysna, Klysna (Norra/Södra), Knattorp, Kohagen, Komministergården, Krogen, Krogtorpet, Kvarntorp

Lickstorp, Lilla Basketorp, Lilla Skogsberg, Lilla Åboda, Lixtorp, London, Lotharne, Lycke, Lysfalla, Lyttebäck, Lyttebäckstorp, Löt, Lötarne

Mariedal, Marielund, Mellangården, Mogetorp, Mossen, Myre, Myrshagen, Måsen

Nordansjö, Norra Klysna, Norrberga, Norrängen, Nybygget, Nyland, Nytorp

Paris, Petersberg, Puketorp

Qvarntorp

Ringholmen, Rörstorp, Rösstorp

Sjöboda, Skansen, Skogsberg, Skogsberg (Lilla), Skräphagen, Sköndal, Smedstorp, Snickartorp, socknens Fattigrote, Soldattorp, Stenshagen, Storrasta, Storskogen, Stånggården, Sundtorp, Sveaborg, Södra Hult, Södra Klysna, Södra Kohagen, Sörberga, Sörgården

Tallhagen, Tingstorp (Kvarn), Tingstorpshammar, Tivanderstorp, Torpa, Tuppenhov

Vassa, Västanberg, Västanmark, Västantorp

Åboda, Åboda (Lilla), Åtorp

Ängby

Östanberg, Östansjö, Österrasta, Östra Fallet

Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Axberg, Kil, Näsby, Lillkyrka-Ödeby, Lindesberg, Nora (bergsförsamling)

Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Örebro Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Örebro" and then select your parish.


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

Handwriting Examples[edit | edit source]

Click one time on the image, then one more time on the image to see full resolution.

1735 Christening Example C:2 (1715 - 1792)

Ervalla 1735 Christening Entry.jpg





1753 Marriage C:1 (1672 - 1757)

Ervalla 1753 Marriage.jpg




1758 Death and Burial F:1 (1758-1792)

Ervalla 1758 Death and Burial.jpg




References[edit | edit source]

Riksarkivet. "Ervalla Församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). February 2011 http://www.nad.ra.se/

For brief area notes (in Swedish) see:  http://sv.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ervalla

Ervalla, Husförhörslängd 1836-1845, Ortregister