Esarp Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Esarp Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Esarp church

History[edit | edit source]

Also known as Eserup. A fire in the Kyrkheddinge prästegård on May 18, 1781 destroyed large parts of the parish record collection.


Esarp Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Lund
Pastorat - 1530 it's own, 1530-1680 annex parish Bonderup and Esarps pastorat, 1680-1945 annex parish Kyrkheddinge, Esarp, 1946-1961 annex parish Kyrkheddinge, Esarp, Bjällerup, Stora Råby, 1962-1963 annex parish Brågarps, Nevishög, Kyrkheddinge, Esarp, Bjällerup, 1964-1999 annex parish Staffanstorps, Kyrkheddinge, Esarp, Bjällerup. Parish combined in 2000 in the new Sankt Staffans parish.
Län Before 1658 belonged to Denmark, 1669 - 1996 Malmöhus, 1997 - the modern county of Skåne.
Landskap Skåne
Härad Bara
Tingslag 1852-1887 Torna härad, 1852-1899 Bara, 1900- Torna och Bara härads
Domsaga 1682-1690 Torna, Bara and Oxie härads, 1691-1851 Torna, Bara and Harjagers härads, 1852-1970 Torna and Bara härads, 1971- Lund
Fögderi 1720 - 1863 Torna, Bara and Harjager, 1864 - 1917 Torna and Bara, 1918 - Lund
Kommun 1863 - 1951 Esarp, 1952 - Staffanstorp
Militär indelning SKÅNSKA DRAGON-REGEMENTET: Torna Sqvadron, Öfv.- Lieutn and Sallerups Comp, SÖDRA SKÅNES REGEMENTE: Torna Kompani
NAD Ref Code SE/SSA/0007
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Alberta, Alberta rusthåll, Alberta krono-rusthåll

Esarp

Mossheddinge, Mossheddinge Kronobete

Svinarp, Trulstorp

Örup


Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes


Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Malmöhus Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.

Click on "Places within Sweden, Malmöhus and then select your parish.


Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]

Esarp Församling Husförhörslängd 1846 - 1850 Ortregister