To request editing rights on the Wiki, click here.

Eskdale, Cumberland Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
(Redirected from Eskdale, Cumberland)
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Eskdale, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Eskdale, Cumberland
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Allerdale above Derwent
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Bootle
Registration District Bootle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1625
Bishop's Transcripts: 1676
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Copeland
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Copeland
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Chapelry History[edit | edit source]

"ESKDALE, with Wasdale, a chapelry, in the parish of St. Bees, union of Bootle, Allerdale ward above Derwent, W. division of Cumberland, 7 miles (N. E. by E.) from Ravenglass.[1]

Resources[edit | edit source]

Civil Registration[edit | edit source]

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records[edit | edit source]

Eskdale parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FS = FamilySearch - free
BOYD = England, Boyd's Marriage Indexes, 1538-1850 (FindMyPast) - free
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - free
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[2]
FS Catalog PRs = FamilySearch Catalog Parish registers - free
FS Catalog BTs = FamilySearch Catalog Bishop's transcripts - free
Eskdale Online Parish Records
Baptisms
Marriages
Burials
Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1538-1975
1538-1973
1538-1991
BOYD

1538-1850


NBI



1538-1939
IGI



FS Catalog PRs


FS Catalog BTs


To find the names of the neighboring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851 Map. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]

Wesleyan Methodist

Census records[edit | edit source]

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.


Probate records[edit | edit source]

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites[edit | edit source]

Eskdale on GENUKI

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 30 July 2013.
  2. ArcherSoftware.co.uk

FamilySearch