Eslöv Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy
Guide to Eslöv Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
- 1 History
- 2 Place Names
- 3 Collections
- 3.1 Census Records
- 3.2 Church Records
- 3.3 Military Records
- 3.4 Related Sources
- 3.5 Help Reading Swedish Records
- 3.6 Help Reading Old Handwriting
- 3.7 Help With Research Objectives and Strategies
- 3.8 References
History[edit | edit source]
Eslöv Parish was before 1952 known as Västra Sallerup.
Eslöv Municipality is one of 290 municipalities of Sweden, situated in Skåne County in southern Sweden and its seat is located in the city of Eslöv.
The present municipality was created in 1971, when the former City of Eslöv was united with a number of surrounding municipalities, most of them created by the earlier nationwide local government reform in 1952.
|Eslöv Parish, Malmöhus, Sweden Genealogy|
|Pastorat||- 1951 mother parish in Västra Sallerup and Remmarlöv pastorat, 1948 Västra Sallerups parish and Västra Sallerups, Eslöv church record district created, both districts dissolved 1952 and the parish name was changed to Eslöv, 1952-1961 mother parish Eslöv and Remmarlöv, 1962-1991 it's own, 1971 combined into Remmarlöv, 1992-2001 mother parish Eslövs and Örtofta, 2002-2005 mother parish Eslövs, Örtofta and Östra Strö-Skarhult, 2006 combined with Örtofta, Östra Strö-Skarhult and Borlunda-Skeglinge, 2006 - it's own pastorat, 2008 combined with Gårdstånga-Holmby|
|Län||Before 1658 belonged to Denmark, 1669 - 1996 Malmöhus, 1997 - the modern county of Skåne.|
|Härad||Frosta (Dammstorp and Stora Vålaröd) up to and including 1887 Harjager|
|Fögderi||1720 - 1863 Torna, Bara, and Harjager, 1864 - 1917 Rönneberga, Onsjö and Harjager, 1918 - Eslöv|
|Kommun||1863 - 1970 Eslöv city, 1971 - Eslöv kommun|
|Militär indelning||Skånska husarregement, Norra skånska infanteriregement|
|NAD Ref Code||SE/LLA/13478|
|National Archive SVAR||link|
|SCB Congregation map||link|
|Open Street map||link|
Place Names[edit | edit source]
Dammstorp, Ellinge, Ellinge säteri, Eslöv, Husarhusen, Lilla Kastberga, Krokhus, Nöbbelöv, Ornaberga, Remmarlöv, Sallerup, Stavröd, Stavröd gård, Stora Kastberga, Stora Vålaröd, Vålaröd
- Surrounding Parishes
Collections[edit | edit source]
Census Records[edit | edit source]
- Sweden Household Examination Records (Husförhörslängder)--explanation of this church record which is functionally the census of Sweden.
- Sweden Household Examination Books, 1840-1947, ($), index and images. Also on Ancestry.com, ($), Arkiv Digital ($), and SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]
The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)
- Sweden, Malmöhus Church Records, 1541-1918; index 1646-1860 at FamilySearch.
- MyHeritage.com ($),
- Ancestry.com ($),
- Arkiv Digital ($), and
- SVAR at Riksarkivet.
Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]
- These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:
Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]
Click Sweden, Malmöhus Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Library, that may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Malmöhus and then select your parish.
Military Records[edit | edit source]
Related Sources[edit | edit source]
Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]
- You do not need to be fluent in Swedish to read these records! You can accomplish a lot just knowing key words for mother, father, born, bride, groom, married, etc. Details such as names and places do not need translation.
- This Swedish Word List covers typical terms found in the records.
- Swedish Historical Dictionary Database, SHDD: This interactive dictionary allows you to enter a word in the search box and receive the translation.
- Feast Day Calendar (Moveable) and Feast Day Lists (Fixed and Moveable) will help you translate dates written in feast day form.
- Sweden surnames are patronymic and change every generation, so carefully study Sweden Names, Personal.
- For help with reading the column headings found in more recent records, see Swedish Parish Register and Household Exam Roll Headings.
- Instructions, document examples, and translations are given for Reading Swedish Birth and Christening Records 1717, 1752, 1771, 1792, 1803, 1834, 1854.
Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]
- FamilySearch Online Lessons - Reading Scandinavian Handwriting:
Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
Västra Sallerup parish, Husförhörslängd 1810 - 1818, AI:2, Ortregister