Everton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy
Guide to Everton, Nottinghamshire ancestry, family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.
Everton Holy Trinity Nottinghamshire
|County||Nottinghamshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||East Retford|
|Registration District||East Retford|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1608|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Nottinghamshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
EVERTON (Holy Trinity), a parish, in the union of East Retford, North Clay division of the wapentake of Bassetlaw, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 3 miles (S. E. by E.) from Bawtry with part of the hamlet of Drakeholes, the hamlet of Harwell, and the township of Scaftworth. 
Everton is a village and civil parish in the Bassetlaw district of Nottinghamshire, see Everton Nottinghamshire Wikipedia.
Everton Holy Trinity is an Ancient Parish which includes Scaftworth, Everton with Drakeholes, Drakeholes, and Harwell.
The Southwell and Nottinghamshire Church History Project are researching the history of the church and parish Everton Holy Trinity
The parish church of Holy Trinity, Church Street, Everton has been designated as a grade II* listed building British listed building
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1837 this parish was within East Retford registration district
Certificates may be obtained for post 1837 events :
The Register Office
County Council Offices
Church records[edit | edit source]
Everton, Nottinghamshire Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FMP = Nottinghamshire Parish Records (findmypast) - (£)|
|PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|EVERTON PARISH Online Records|
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Everton
Transcribed by Charles, Brian. Monumental Inscritpions of Everton, transcribed by him in August-October 1994. Gives an alphabetical listing of surnames, given names, age and date of death, starting in 1760 onwards. Also included is the transcription of the War Memorial 1914-1918 and 1939-1945. Also is the Everton - Communal Burial Ground Mattersey Road. Article in Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol. 97, pages 56-65, FHL Ref 942.52 D25n
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Occupation[edit | edit source]
Transcribed by Bailey, Bryan, Certificates for Using Hair Powder Issued 1795-1978. For each Nottinghamshire Parish, gives the Cerificate no. date, surname, given name, and description. Article in the Nottinghamshire Family History Society Magazine, vol.127, page 1-38, Family History Library Ref. 942.52 D25n - the original is at Nottinghamshire Archives Ref QDT 1/1-4.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
| This section requires expansion with:
any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above..
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 07 December 2013.
- 'Nottinghamshire baptisms 1538-1980,' 'Nottinghamshire marriages 1528-1929,' findmypast, accessed 9 January 2015.
- Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Digital Library.