Evje Parish, Aust-Agder, Norway Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search

Guide to Evje, Aust-Agder, Norway ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.

Evje Parish
Jurisdictions
Stift/Bispedømme/
Diocese
Agder og Telemark bispedømme (1925-today), Stavanger bispedømme (1684-1925), Oslo bispedømme (1070-1684)
Prosti Otredal prosti
Len 1599-1660 Agdesiden
Amt 1689-1919 1660-1682: Agdesiden, 1682-1685: Christiansand, 1685-1919: Nedene
Fylke 1919-Present Aust-Agder
Region Sørlandet
Prestegjeld Evje
Kommune Evje og Hornes
Skifteretten Østre Råbyggelag
Tinglag Evje, Iveland, Hornnes
Fogderi Østre Raabyggelag
Sorenskriveri Østre Råbyggelag
Skipreide Strengreid skipreide


Church Records[edit | edit source]

  • Microfilm at the Family History Library for Evje prestegjeld (clreical district). Contains church records for Evje clerical district which includes the following parishes: Evje, Hornnes and Iveland. Included also Vegusdal parish until 1875 when it became part of Herefoss clerical district. Parish registers from 1704-1926.

  • Digitized parish registers are available online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives).

Census Records[edit | edit source]

  • 1664-1666 Clerical Census:. This census covers Evje clerical district and includes Evje, Hornnes, Vegusdal, and Iveland parishes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It was taken by the local parish priests and lists the name of the farms, names of farm owners (including widows), the sons of the farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and their sons, and the ages of each person. There was another census taken by the civil authorities at this same time. Both censuses should be searched as they supplement each other. This clerical census is more complete.

  • 1664-1666 Civil Census:. This census covers Evje clerical district and includes Evje, Hornnes, Vegusdal, and Iveland parishes is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It was taken by the local civil authorities and lists the names of the farms, farmowners (including widows), sons of farm owners, male farm hands, cottagers and sons of cottagers and the age of each person. The clerical authorities took a census during this same time period. Both censuses should be used as they supplement each other. The clerical census is more complete.

  • 1801: The 1801 census for Evje clerical district includes Evje, Hornnes, Iveland, and Vegusdal parishes and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. It lists the farm name, person's name, position in the household, age, marital status, and occupation. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway.


  • 1865: The 1865 census for Evje clerical district includes the parishes of Evje, Hornnes, Iveland, and Vegusdal and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census and contains the persons name, residence, status in the family, occupation, sex, age, martial status, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Each book usually contains one clerical district (prestegjeld). In some books there are two clerical districts recorded. The parishes and school districts in each clerical district are listed at the beginning of each book. Also available in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway.


  • 1875: The 1875 census for Evje clerical district includes the parishes of Evje, Vegusdal, Herefoss, Hornnes, and Iveland and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the persons name, residence, position in the family, occupation, sex, marital status, year of birth, place of birth, religion if not a member of the state church, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø in Norway.



  • 1900: The 1900 census for Evje clerical district includes the parishes of Evje, Hornnes, and Iveland and is available on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City. This census contains the persons name, sex, resident or temporary resident, temporarily absent and where person is, position in the family, marital status, occupation, year of birth, place of birth, citizenship, religion, and other miscellaneous information. Also available in a searchable database online at Digitalarkivet (Digital Archives) of Norway, as well as at the Norwegian Historical Data Centre at the University of Tromsø in Norway.

Court Records[edit | edit source]

Land Records[edit | edit source]

Farm Books[edit | edit source]

Løvland, Anders, 1852-1928: Gards-og ættebok for Lauvland, Hornnes og Faret: A history and a genealogy of the people and their farms (Lauvland, Hornnes, and Faret) in Evje and Hornnes, Aust-Agder, Norway.

FHL International film 186623

Farm Names[edit | edit source]

The farm number and name of the farms listed in Oluf Rygh Farm Names Index in about 1900 were as follows:

12 Aamland, 16 Aaneland, 15 Aasland, 26 Aavesland, 25 Austerhus,

34 Bakken, 6 Bjoraa,

23 Flaat, 13 Fosvik,

14 Galteland, 28 Gautestad, 27 Grønevik,

32 Haatveit, 17 Haugen, 8 Høgetveit,

12 Kaarelien, 9 Kjebæk, 10 Kleggetveit med Frikstadmyren, 1 Klep, 27 Klepsland, 36 Kleveland, 6 Knøpelien,

18 Landsværk nordre, 2 Landsværk søndre, 29 Lauvaas, 7 Lauvland, 4 Li nedre, 16 Lund,

35 Møkjaaland,

24 Nordbø,

19 Odde,

20 Præstegaarden,

30 Rauestøl, 13 Rosseland,

11 Skjeggestad, 33 Slettene, 26 Stean, 2 Stien, 21 Syrtveit,

22 Tveit,

34 Undeland,

5 Vaanne, 31 Vikstøl

Genealogy[edit | edit source]

Probate Records[edit | edit source]

Vestre Råbyggelag judicial district
*1697-1862 Family History Library

Setesdal judicial district
*1697-1909 Digitalarkivet
*1856-1881 Family History Library

References[edit | edit source]

Oluf Rygh: Norwegian Farm Names