Färnebo Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Guide to Färnebo Parish, Sweden ancestry, family history, and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Filipstad kyrka.png

History[edit | edit source]

Färnebo which was also known as Värmlandsberg was populated with the discovery of iron ore in the area. This probably happened when King Erik of Pommern sent out notice of "jernberghet i Wermelande" in 1413. By the 1500's a wooden church had been built by Kalhyttan on the west side of Färnsjön. Towards the end of the 1500's a few farms had been moved over to the newly created Nyed parish. When Filipstad was founded in 1611 the church building was moved there and Färnebo became the "Filipstad Rural Parish" to Filipstad city parish. The old wooden church burned in 1694. Another wood chuch was built which also burned down in 1775. The replacement church building was built of stone which stands today. The parish of Kroppa broke from Färnebo in 1624. This was followed by Gåsborn in 1693, and Nordmark in 1731. On Jan. 1, 1971 Färnebo was combined with Filipstad.

Färnebo Parish, Värmland, Sweden Genealogy
Jurisdictions
Stift Karlstad
Pastorat At first Färnebo was the pastorat. Färnebo became the annex parish to Filipstad.
Län pre - 1779 Närkes och Värmlands län, 1779 - Värmlands län
Landskap Värmland
Härad Färnebo
Tingslag add here
Domsaga add here
Fögderi 1682-1966 Östersysslet, 1967-1970 Filipstad,
Kommun 1863-1951 Färnebo, 1952-1970 Värmlandsbergs landskommun
Militär indelning add here
NAD Ref Code SE/VA/13146
National Archive SVAR link
Swedish Wikipedia link
SCB Congregation map link
Open Street map link


Place Names[edit | edit source]

Agegruvan, Aspgruvan, Asphyttan

Bergenhall, Berget, Björnbotten, Björntjärn u. Nyhyttan, Björntjärn u. Yngshyttan, Bolhyttan, Bosjö Bruk, Bornshyttan, Brandåsgruvan, Brattforsgruvan, Bruket Bosjö, Bäcken

Daglösedet Norra, Daglösedet Södra, Daglösviken, Dalbotorp, Dammhyttan, Dammshöjden,Danielshöjden, Dennevik, Didrickstorp, Drakeberget

Edsbäcken, Edsholm

Fallet, Fallgruvan, Fattighjon, Fattighuset, Finngårdarna, Finnshyttan, Flyfallet, Fogdhyttan

Genstigen, Gråbergsgruvan, Gräsbosjöhyttan, Gräsnäset Norra, Gräsnäset Södra

Haborshyttan, Haktorshyttan, Hennikehammaren, Holbäcken, Horrsjöhyttan, Hökbergsgruvan, Hökebo

Kalhyttan, Kattbäcken, Kranka Norra, Kranka Södra, Kråkåsgruvan, Kullen, Kytthyttegruvan

Landsgruvan, Lersjöed, Lersjön, Lervik, Lindbergshage, Lisselhöjdgruvan, Långbansgruvan, Långbanshyttan, Långbanshyttan Gruvor, Lönngruvan, Lövnäset

Malmbergsåsgruvan, Marstrand, Mullgruvan, Munkåsen, Murbo, Mögsjöhyttan, Mögsjön, Mörkhult, Mörkhultsgruvan, Mörttjärnshyttan

Norra Daglösedet, Norra Gräsnäset, Norra Kranka, Nya Ormberget, Nyhyttan, Nyhyttehöjden, Nyttstad

Ormberget, Omberget Nya

Persbergs Gruvor, Persberget, Persjöjden, Petersborg

Rosenlund, Rävbäcken, Rötlågen

Sandviken, Saxåhyttan, Sjöänden, Skavnäset, Skrivbogruvan, Skåltjärnshyttan, Skärpskammars gruvor, Stensjön, Stommen, Stora Lindboms gruvan, Storbrohyttan, Storbrotorp, Storhöjden, Stöpsjöhyttan, Stöpsjön, Sundet, Sven Persgruvor, Svenstorp, Södra Daglösedet, Södra Gräsnäset, Södra Kranka

Tagmistegruvan, Torskbäckshyttan, Trallgruvan, Tranmossen, Trullskullen, Trunhem

Yngshyttan, Yngshyttehöjden

Ålängen, Åsarna

Änggruvan

Östergården

Sweden 1951 Place Names Register and the Swedish Parish Pages list in this Wiki will give you searchable lists of places, particularly parishes and the farms within those parishes.

  • Surrounding Parishes

Brattfors, Gåsborn, Kroppa, Lungsund, Nordmark, Storfors, Sunnemo

Collections[edit | edit source]

Census Records[edit | edit source]

Church Records[edit | edit source]

Online Database Church Records[edit | edit source]

The easiest way to access the Swedish Church Records is through the internet, using these five sites (see links to specific collections below). Four of these sites require a subscription for access. (ArkivDigital, Ancestry.com, and MyHeritage.com are available at a FamilyHistory Center near you free of charge.)

Help Using ArkivDigital: Online Databases for Sweden[edit | edit source]

These lessons will teach you how to use ArkivDigital:

Family History Library Records[edit | edit source]

Click Sweden, Värmland Records for a full listing of microfilmed records (some digitized online) at the Family History Librarythat may be digitized. Check back occasionally to see if your records have become available. In the meantime, some of them might be available at a Family History Center near you.
Click on "Places within Sweden, Värmland and then select your parish.

Military Records[edit | edit source]

Related Sources[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Swedish Records[edit | edit source]

Help Reading Old Handwriting[edit | edit source]

Help With Research Objectives and Strategies[edit | edit source]

Sweden Research Strategies

References[edit | edit source]

Riksarkivet. "Färnebo församling." Nationell ArkivDatabas (NAD). March 2010 <http://www.nad.ra.se/>

Skatteverket. "Färnebo." Förteckning (Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna). April 2010 Sveriges församlingar genom tiderna

VärmlandsRötter. "Färnebo socken." Värmlands Släktforskarförening . April 2010 Färnebo

Länsstyrelsen Värmland. "Filipstads kyrka." Värmland.se April 2010 Filipstads kyrka

Svenska Kyrkan. "Ortregister." Färnebo Husförhörslängd 1836-1840 AI:18a, AI:18b: and AI:18c