Family History Center Portal
The special access that family history centers have been granted to these databases only works when the online services are accessed through a computer in a Family History Center. Please note that entering the web sites of these providers through their regular, public URLs will not provide access to the full versions that have been authorized for family history center use.
- 1 Premium websites
- 1.1 19th Century British Library Newspapers
- 1.2 Access Newspaper Archives
- 1.3 Alexander Street Press - American Civil War
- 1.4 Ancestry
- 1.5 ArkivDigital
- 1.6 Find My Past
- 1.7 Fold3 - formerly Footnote
- 1.8 The Genealogist
- 1.9 Historic Map Works - Library Edition
- 1.10 Kinpoint - Premium
- 1.11 MyHeritage - Library Edition
- 1.12 Paper Trail
- 1.13 ProQuest Obituary Listings
- 1.14 Puzzilla - Premium Services
- 1.15 World Vital Records
- 2 Other helpful websites
Premium websites[edit | edit source]
List of available services (updated 22 April 2015) from FamilySearch help document.
19th Century British Library Newspapers[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: http://find.galegroup.com/bncn
This fully searchable database of the British Library's newspaper holdings provides a complete run of 48 national and regional Victorian British newspapers for the 19th century from 1800 to 1900. These support the study of colonial history, genealogical research, politics, urban studies, and media courses.
Access Newspaper Archives[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: http://www.newspaperarchive.com
"NewspaperArchive.com is the world's largest online newspaper archive. Featuring billions of articles from historical newspapers around the U.S. and the world, NewspaperARCHIVE makes exploring history and genealogy easy and fun. Discover fascinating news in archived newspapers hundreds of years old-including obituaries, birth announcements, sports articles, comics, and more-to fill in the life stories you are interested in. And share those stories with others through our community at Our NewspaperARCHIVE. All of our historical newspapers are full-page and fully searchable. Try exploring above, and discover your history today!"
Alexander Street Press - American Civil War[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: http://alexanderstreet.com
- Research Data: Contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. http://asp6new.alexanderstreet.com/cwdb
- Letters and Diaries: Contains approximately 100,000 indexed pages of diaries, letters, and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts, such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland planter William Claytor. http://solomon.cwld.alexanderstreet.com
- Images, Photographs, Posters, and Ephemera : Provides a vivid history of the American Civil War with over 1,400 images. http://cpho.alexanderstreet.com
- Women and Social Movements in the United States: Organized around the history of women in social movements in the United States between 1600 and 2000 A.D.
Ancestry[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: http://www.ancestry.com
Ancestry gives you access to thousands of collections of records from around the world, including immigration, census, voter, vital, and military records; newspapers and periodicals; family trees; photos and images; directories, maps, court, land, wills and financial records, stories, memories, and histories; and detailed records about births, marriages, deaths, land ownership, and much more. It is the largest for-profit genealogy company in the world.
ArkivDigital[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: http://www.arkivdigital.net
ArkivDigital is the largest private provider of Swedish Church Records and other historical records online! All images are newly photographed color images of the original documents.
Click the link from the Premium Family History Websites page to install the current client version of ArkivDigital Online.
Find My Past[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: http://www.findmypast.co.uk
findmypast makes it easy to research your UK ancestry and create your family tree. Search census records and trace births, marriages, and deaths to bring your family history to life. Please note that not all of the content from findmypast is available in family history centers.
1911 British Census (accessed through the findmypast website)-The 1911 UK Census is a record of everyone who lived in England and Wales in 1911. It provides a unique snapshot of the lives of those who lived at that time.
Fold3 - formerly Footnote[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: http://www.fold3.com
Search or browse millions of historical documents and photos. Fold3 has refocused their efforts on gathering the best online collection of military records and stories. The Fold3 name reflects military history and honor, since traditionally, the third fold in a flag-folding ceremony honors and remembers veterans for their sacrifice in defending their country and promoting peace in the world.
The Genealogist[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: http://www.thegenealogist.co.uk
Contains English parish records, directories, census, civil registration, surname mapping, and selected army and navy lists.
This site is now available only in the United Kingdom. It is NOT available anywhere else.
Historic Map Works - Library Edition[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: http://www.proquest.historicmapworks.com
Historic Map Works-Library Edition is one of the most extensive digital map collections available, with over 470,000 high-resolution, full color historic and antique maps. The core of the collection consists of cadastral (property and land ownership) maps illustrating the geographic and development history of the United States and also includes illustrations, city directories, and more. This unique content allows genealogists, historians, and academic researchers to track the "residential genealogy" of families and locations.
Kinpoint - Premium[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: https://kinpoint.com
Kinpoint is designed to make it easier for you to do your family history by letting you see what to work on at a glance; quickly find missing information in your family tree; and discover insights into the lives of your ancestors.
MyHeritage - Library Edition[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: http://myheritagelibraryedition.com/research
Used by millions of people worldwide to help research family history, build a family tree, and add photos, historical records, and more.
Paper Trail[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: http://www.genealogytoday.com
Provides access to 19th-century westward American migration documents.
ProQuest Obituary Listings[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: http://obituaries.proquest.com/obitsweb/obits/do/home
The ProQuest obituaries collection is a premier resource for genealogical and historical research. You can use the collection to search obituaries and death notices from prominent newspapers, such as the New York Times (dating back to 1851). The collection includes both famous and lesser-known individuals and can be searched by name or by keywords appearing in the body of the article.
Puzzilla - Premium Services[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: https://puzzilla.org
Find new research opportunities on descendant lines in Family Tree.
World Vital Records[edit | edit source]
Access this database at: https://www.worldvitalrecords.com
Access to birth, marriage, and death records; Social Security Death Index; family trees; census records; immigration records; court, land, and probate records; military records directory lists; newspapers, family histories, reference materials, biographies, wills, gravestone photos, ship manifests, map collections, and yearbook collections.
Proper log-in through the portal is confirmed by a "Welcome Family History Center Patron!" banner on the web page. Also see World Vital Records error message: This Data Is NOT Available To Your Library (53204) for an explanation of some data may not be available.
Other helpful websites[edit | edit source]
- Create your Who Do You Think You Are? Story, for free
- Hungary Exchange
- Legacy Stories
- FamilySearch Learning Center
- FamilySearch UTube
- FamilySearch Wiki
- Genuki (UK & Ireland)
- Find A Grave
- Google Search
- Mocavo Search
- Utah Digital Newspapers
- BYU Idaho Special Collections
- Cyndi’s List
- Kin Crawler Search