FamilySearch Wiki:WikiProject Adding Collections to Spanish Wiki - Ancestry
Purpose[edit | edit source]
Many of our previous Spanish Wiki projects in the Latin American countries only include online records from the FamilySearch Catalog. This project will consist of searching other major online websites for relevant collections for Latin American countries, and adding those collections to the respective pages in the Spanish Wiki.
Project Leader[edit | edit source]
Task List[edit | edit source]
Instructions[edit | edit source]
Sign up on Task List[edit | edit source]
1. Go to the Task List and put your name in the "Name" column for the respective country you'd like to work on.
- Note: At the bottom of the Task List, there are multiple sheets, each for a different country. You can work on any of those countries you'd like.
Ancestry.com[edit | edit source]
2. To search Ancestry.com you will need to have an Ancestry account. If you do not already have an Ancestry account, go to FamilySearch Partner Access to create an account using your Church Membership.
3. Once logged into Ancestry.com, go to the Ancestry Card Catalog.
4. Type the name of your country in the Keyword field, and click "Search".
5. Analyze the list of results, and find church records, civil registration, cemetery, or census collections that are specific to that country. For example, you would not use collections such as Find A Grave, or collections that are broadly Hispanic, as they are not specific to that country.
- Note: Typically, the "good" collections are the ones that have the name of the country in the title.
6. An example of "good" collections to use for Chile is shown below.
8. Once on the page, look for a "Browse this collection" section on the right-hand side. Using the dropdown(s) in this section should tell you the precise locations that are covered in that collection.
- Note: If your collection does not have this section on the collection page, in the "Any Event" location field, type in the name of the provincia(s) of your country, and click Search. Then, skip to step 10.
9. Using the places listed in the dropdown(s) in the "Browse this collection" section, find the equivalent Spanish Wiki pages for those locations. Those will be the pages you will be adding this collection to (e.g. if you find the province Antofagasta in the dropdown, this collection will go on all sub-pages under the Antofagasta province on the Wiki.)
- Note: Occasionally after you select an option from the dropdown, another dropdown may appear below showing more exact locations. If this is the case, use that second dropdown box however you feel will best help you figure out what equivalent Wiki pages this collection will go on.
Adding Collection to Wiki page[edit | edit source]
10. In a different tab, open the corresponding Spanish Wiki pages for your jurisdiction that are applicable to this collection.
11. Locate the correct header on the page for the record type (e.g. the Registro civil header for a civil registration collection, etc.)
- Note: Most "Baptism", "Marriage", and "Death" collections in these countries will fall under the "Registros parroquiales" heading. Any cemeteries will go under the Cementerios heading, and any census records will go under the Censos heading, if those exist on the page. If you have questions about which header some collections fall under, or there is a header missing, contact Amber.
12. Copy the following code, and paste it under the correct header:
*[URL COLLECTIONNAME] - en Ancestry ($)
13. Replace URL with the web address in the URL bar, and replace COLLECTIONNAME with the title of the collection from Ancestry.com. An example of completed code is below:
*[https://www.ancestry.com/search/collections/9812/ Chile, Civil Registration, 1885-1903] - en Ancestry ($)
14. After the collection is added to the correct heading, Save the page and add the collection to the other relevant Wiki pages that the collection covers. Mark on the Task List which pages you added the collection to.