FamilySearch Wiki:WikiProject England City Pages

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


Main Project Page

Purpose[edit | edit source]

To update England City pages and add additional information to these pages.

Contact[edit | edit source]

Nathan

Task List[edit | edit source]

Task List

Instructions[edit | edit source]

Go to the Task List and sign out an England city to work on.

NOTE: We have added "save the page" after the end of a step to help remind you to periodically save the page. This will help keep from losing any work from a wiki timeout. You may save the page as you often as you would like.

Step 1 - Make General Changes[edit | edit source]

1. Change headings that are in all caps to normal.

2. Fix Breadcrumb. Example of correct code:

[[England Genealogy|England]] [[Image:Gotoarrow.png]] [[Somerset Genealogy|Somerset]] [[Image:Gotoarrow.png]] [[Bath]]


3. Remove old sidebar

4. Make sure there is a SEO paragraph on the page. Use the following wikitext changing the name of "Bath" to the correct city.

Guide to '''Bath history, family history, and genealogy''' parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


5. Under the SEO paragraph (starts with “Guide to…”), put the image code and change it to mirror this example:

[[Image:Bath royal Crescent.jpg|right|350px]]


6. Add right below this image the wikitext code:

__TOC__


7. Move content in “Location” to just below __TOC__ and take out “Location” heading and change it to “Description.” If the information is from Wikipedia, we need to add a reference. To do so, adapt the following reference changing "Argentina" and the date, 23 March 2016 and put it directly after the last word in the paragraph:

<ref>Wikipedia contributors, "Argentina," in ''Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia'', https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Argentina, accessed 23 March 2016.</ref>


8. Put the coat of arms template between the heading, Description and the paragraph. See the example of the Bath page. This will make it show up to the right.

9. Save the page and go to Step 2 below.

Step 2 - Content under headings[edit | edit source]

The following are the headings that should now be on the city pages and in this order:

  • History
  • Resources
    • Cemeteries (Civil)
    • Church Records
      • Parishes
      • Nonconformists
    • Civil Registration
    • Local Histories
    • Maps and Gazetteers
    • Newspapers
    • Occupations
  • Societies
  • Archives
  • Websites
  • References

Use the following instructions to fill in each heading listed above.

1. Make "History" a heading 2, then do the following:

a. If the information found under history is from Wikipedia, it needs a reference added.If you got the information from Wikipedia, we need to add a reference. To do so, adapt the following reference changing "Argentina" and the date, 23 March 2016 and put it directly after the last word in the paragraph:
<ref>Wikipedia contributors, "Argentina," in ''Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia'', https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Argentina, accessed 23 March 2016.</ref>
b. Save the page



2. Make "Resources" a heading 2. Nothing needs to be added to this heading.

3. Make "Cemeteries (Civil)" as a heading, then do the following:

a. Civil cemeteries are cemeteries that are not related to a parish church, so we only want to list the civil cemeteries on the page.
b. Copy and paste the following wikitext under this heading and change the word Bath to the correct word:
Below are websites that may contain cemetery records for non-parish churches in Bath:<br>
*[https://www.deceasedonline.com/servlet/GSDOSearch Deceased Online]<br>
*[http://www.findagrave.com Find A Grave]<br>
c. Save the page



4. Make a "Church Records" heading 3, then do the following:

a. Make an additional heading to go under Church Records, called "Parishes" and make it a heading 4.
i. Go to the county’s parish list in the wiki. For example, Bath is in Somerset, so type in the wiki Somerset parishes. It would page this page
ii. Find the entries on the Somerset Parishes wiki page that start with the name of the city. For Bath there is: Bath Abbey, Bath St. James, and Bath St. Michael
iii. Go back to the heading Parishes and make a bullet list each of these parishes and add a link to the Parish wiki page
iv. Save the page
b. Make a "Nonconformists" heading 4.
i. List the nonconformist religions found on the FamilySearch map for England. You can find this list by doing the following:
1. Go to: www.maps.familysearch.org
2. Type in the city
3. For each parish in Bath click on the link (there is blue bulb beside each parish)
4. On the Info tab, you will see a list of the denominations of non-conformist religions (everything but Anglican church)
5. Copy the list and add them in a bullet list to the city page (see example below)
ii. Next add a link to the Genealogist, a website that lists church records of non-conformist religions by adding the following wikitext:
*[http://www.thegenealogist.co.uk/search/advanced/bmd/non-conformist/ The Genealogist] - $, index to non-conformist church records (does not include Anglican Church)
c. Put any written content found under the old heading “Religion” and put it under the the correct headings above (either Parishes or Nonconformists). If you got the information from Wikipedia, we need to add a reference. To do so, adapt the following reference changing "Argentina" and the date, 23 March 2016 and put it directly after the last word in the paragraph:
<ref>Wikipedia contributors, "Argentina," in ''Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia'', https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Argentina, accessed 23 March 2016.</ref>
d. Save the page



5. Make a “Civil Registration” heading 3, then do the following:

a. ADD the following paragraph under the heading, Civil Registration:
Civil registration is the recording of births, marriages and deaths in England and began in 1837. Civil registration records were recorded at the local registration office and the National registration offices. If you cannot find the civil registration in one index, search the other index as they are different indexes.
b. Find the link the local civil registration office (try googling the name of the town and civil registration online) and add it to the page. See the example below.

Example of civil registration websites for Bath:

c. Save the page



6. Make a "Local Histories" heading 3, then do the following:

a. Here there will be bullet list of the local histories we can find online.
b. Once you find a book that is online, put the books in alphabetical order with a bullet before each entry. You can make the title of the book a clickable link. An example of an entry is:
Example:
=== Local Histories ===

*[https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/008915763 Bye-paths of Bath and Somersetshire history] by Gregory Bath *[https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/005786393 The Somerset diocese, Bath and Wells. By William Hunt. Published under the direction of the Tract committee] by William Hunt *[https://catalog.hathitrust.org/Record/000195447 Bath and Bristol, with the counties of Somerset and Gloucester, displayed in a series of views] by John Britton

c. You can locate books online, by using the following websites and using a keyword search using "[NAME OF CITY] History":



7. Make a "Maps and Gazetteers" heading 3, then do the following:

a. Paste this wikitext:
[http://interactive.ancestry.com/8830/somerset?pid=9433&backurl=http%3a%2f%2fsearch.ancestry.com%2f%2fcgi-bin%2fsse.dll%3findiv%3d1%26db%3dPhillimoreMaps%26gss%3dangs-d%26new%3d1%26rank%3d1%26msT%3d1%26gskw%3dbath%26MSAV%3d1%26uidh%3dj53%26pcat%3d44%26fh%3d0%26h%3d9433%26recoff%3d%26ml_rpos%3d1&treeid=&personid=&hintid=&usePUB=true Map of Bath] – ‘’Great Britain, Atlas and Index of Parish Registers’’ on Ancestry.com (link to Ancestry); map originally from The Phillimore Atlas and Index of Parish Registers by Cecil R. Humphery Smith.<br>
b. Go to Ancestry’s database, Great Britain, Atlas and Index of Parish Registers and do the following:
i. Type in the keyword, the name of the city
ii. Click on the link that says the city name.
iii. Go to the image by clicking on “view”
iv. Copy the URL
v. Return to the link you added under the heading and replace the URL part with the new URL you just found.
c. Save the page



8. Make a "Newspapers" heading 3, then do the following:

a. Go to this website and make sure the town is listed on the page. We won't be adding this link unless there is actually newspapers listed here.
b. If you find the town newspaper, copy and paste the following wikitext under the Newspaper heading.
Newspapers for Bath:
*[http://freepages.genealogy.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~dutillieul/BritishandIrishNews.html#England Richard Heaton's Index to Digitalised British and Irish Newspapers Online Beta (updated 12th September 2015)].
c. If there are no newspapers on this website, just least this heading blank but leave the heading.



9. Make an "Occupations" heading 3, then do the following:

a. Move content in the Industry heading and put it under Occupations. If the information is from Wikipedia, it needs a reference added. To do so, adapt the following reference changing "Argentina" and the date, 23 March 2016 and put it directly after the last word in the paragraph:
<ref>Wikipedia contributors, "Argentina," in ''Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia'', https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Argentina, accessed 23 March 2016.</ref>
b. Save the page



10. Make a "Societies" heading 2 (different from Occupations), then do the following:

a. Move any society information found under “Genealogy and Family History” heading and put it under the Societies heading.
b. List out the name and contact info of the Society including the website link
c. List any additional information about what kind of collections they might have for the society.
d. Save the page



11. Make "Archives" as a heading 2 (same as Societies), then do the following:

a. Move any archives information found under Genealogy and Family History to the new Archives heading.
b. List out the name and contact info of the Archives including the website link
c. List any additional information about what kind of collections they might have at the Archives
d. Use this page as an example: Bath
e. Save the page



12. Make a "Websites" heading 2, then do the following:

a. Move any databases links currently found under "Genealogy and Family History" and put it under this new heading
b. Then delete the "Genealogy and Family History" heading.
c. Save the page



13. Make a "References" heading 2, then do the following:

a. Add the following wikitext after the References heading and just before the Category:
<references/>
b. Save the page

14. Add/check the category.

a. Check to see if the correct category is at the bottom of the page. We will be putting these cities in the County category. If it is missing, you can adapt the following category wikitext:
[[Category:Somerset, England]]
b. Save the page



Additional Headings and info[edit | edit source]

15. If there are any headings still on the page not covered in the instructions, put the heading in alphabetical order on the page.

16. Double check all the links to make sure they appear correctly and are not numbers.

17. Once you have completed the page update, return to the Task List page and put the date you completed the task. You can then sign up for another city to update.