FamilySearch Wiki:WikiProject US Taxation Pages

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Updating/Creating United States Taxation pages

Purpose[edit | edit source]

To complete and create new taxation pages of the United States.

Contact[edit | edit source]

Danielle Batson

Task List[edit | edit source]

Instructions[edit | edit source]

1. Go to the Task List and sign out a state.
2. Go to the state page you are going to work on and click on the Taxation page in the state sidebar.
3. Once on the page, review the content to see what information can be added. Use the following information to see if it applies to the state and add it to the page.

4. The following explanation about tax records should be on each taxation page at the top:

Tax records vary in content. They may include the name and residence of the taxpayer, description of the real estate, name of original purchaser, description of personal property, number of males over 21, number of school children, slaves, and farm animals. They are usually arranged by date and locality, and they are not normally indexed. Tax records can be used in place of missing land and census records to locate a person’s residence.<br>

5. Check this collection to see if it includes the state and should be added to the page. Use the wikitext code to add to the page - and change any information as necessary relating to the state:
*{{RecordSearch|2075263|U.S., Internal Revenue Assessment Lists, 1862-1874}} - Images only; Images include a research guide, and annual, monthly, and special lists.

6. Check this collection to see if it includes the state and should be added to the page. Use the wikitext code to add the page and change any information as necessary relating to the state:
*[https://search.ancestry.com/search/db.aspx?dbid=1264 U.S. IRS Tax Assessment Lists, 1862-1918] - ($); This collection includes annual, monthly and special assessment lists.

7. If there are now online collections on the page, make sure the page has the header, Online Collections. Use the following wikitext to add it to the page.
== Online Resources==

8. Check the information that already exists on the page and see if there are other online collections relative to that state that you can move under the Online Resources heading.

9. Review the following websites to see if there are any more specific collections for the state regarding tax records. Add them using a bullet matching the examples above.

10. Check the state archive page for the state to see if there is anything regarding tax records on the website. Any information found, put it on the page. You can either create a new section for the archive on the page or list the resource on the list under Online Resources.

11. Go to the FamilySearch catalog and do a search under a state and click on the Online option. Review the topic, Taxation and see if there are any additional collections that should be added to the page. If you find an entry, use the following wikitext code to add the catalog entry to the page:
ONLINE BOOK

  • Click on the link to get the number in the URL
  • Use this template on the wiki page replacing "IE number" with the number found in the URL: {{FSbook|IE number}}
  • FamilySearch Digital Library

MICROFILM ONLINE