Farndish, Northamptonshire Genealogy
Guide to Farndish, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|County||Northamptonshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Wellingborough|
|Parish registers: 1587|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1602|
|Diocese||Pre-1837 - Lincoln; Post-1836 - Ely|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Bedford|
|Location of Archive|
|Northamptonshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
FARNDISH (St. Michael), a parish, in the union of Wellingborough, hundred of Willey, county of Bedford, 4½ miles (S. E.) from Wellingborough, and the same distance (S. W. by S.) from Higham-Ferrers. It occupies the extreme north-western part of the county, upon the border of Northamptonshire. 
This parish is an Ancient Parish partly in Bedfordshire and partly in Northampton, however, the main location is in Bedfordshire. See also Farndish, Bedfordshire.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church records[edit | edit source]
Farndish parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|Farndish Online Parish Records|
|FS Catalog PRs|
|FS Catalog BTs|
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1840-1894 England, Northamptonshire, Non-conformist Records, 1840-1894 at FamilySearch - How to Use this Collection; index (dates may vary by parish)
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 03 December 2013.