Federated States of Micronesia Genealogy
Guide to Federated States of Micronesia ancestry, family history and genealogy: birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, and military records.
| Federated States of Micronesia Wiki Topics | |
 | |
| Beginning Research | |
| Record Types | |
| Federated States of Micronesia Background | |
| Local Research Resources | |
Country Information[edit | edit source]
The former Caroline Islands, (except Palau) now the Federated States of Micronesia, are an archipelago in the West Pacific, just north of the equator. The Federated States of Micronesia is an independent sovereign island nation and a United States associated state in the Pacific Ocean whose nearest neighbors are Papua New Guinea, Guam, the Mariana Islands, Nauru, the Marshall Islands, and Palau. It was formerly ruled by Portugal, Spain, Germany, and Japan. The official language is English.[1] The land is fertile and rich in minerals. The largest islands or island groups are Yap (Waqab), Chuuk (Truk), Pohnpei (Ponape), and Kosrae.
Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands are not part of the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM), but are part of the greater Micronesia island area.
Getting Started[edit | edit source]
Getting Started with Federated States of Micronesia ResearchLinks to articles on getting started with Federated States of Micronesia research. |
Federated States of Micronesia Research ToolsLinks to articles and websites that assist in Federated States of Micronesia research.
|
Federated States of Micronesia Map[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Federated States of Micronesia. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.
Islands[edit | edit source]
Genealogy records are kept on the local level in the Federated States of Micronesia. Click on a place below to go to the corresponding Wiki article listing more information.
The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) includes four main island groups:[2]
- Pohnpei - formerly known as Ponape
- Chuuk - formerly known as Truk Islands
- Yap
- Kosrae - formerly known as Kosaie
FamilySearch Resources[edit | edit source]
Below are FamilySearch resources that can assist you in researching your family.
- Facebook Communities - Facebook groups discussing genealogy research
- Learning Center - Online genealogy courses
- Historical Records
- Family History Center locator map
References[edit | edit source]
- ↑ Wikipedia contributors, "Federated States of Micronesia," in Wikipedia: the Free Encyclopedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Federated_States_of_Micronesia, accessed 2 May 2016.
- ↑ "Federated States of Micronesia," Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Federated_States_of_Micronesia: accessed 18 August 2008), and Central Intelligence Agency, "Micronesia, Federated States of," World Factbook (https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/fm.html: accessed 18 August 2008).
