Fen Ditton, Cambridgeshire Genealogy
Guide to Fen Ditton, Cambridgeshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Fen Ditton, Cambridgeshire|
|County||Cambridgeshire, England Genealogy|
|Poor Law Union||Caxton|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1599|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Ely|
|Location of Archive|
|Cambridgeshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
DITTON, FEN (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of Chesterton, hundred of Flendish, county of Cambridge, 2¾ miles NE by E from Cambridge. 
Resources =[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Church Records[edit | edit source]
Fen Ditton parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FS BTs = FamilySearch Bishop's Transcripts - free|
|Fen Ditton Online Parish Records|
|FS BTs||1599-1859||1599-1836, 1852-1853||1599-1859|
Fen-Ditton, Cambridgeshire : baptisms, 1538-1902; marriages, 1538-1902; banns,1755-1803, 1880-1902; burials, 1538-1803, 1880-1902; briefs, 1661-1732; index to briefs; index to baptisms, marriages, banns, and burials at FHL
Bishop's transcripts for Ditton-Fen, 1599-1859 have been digitised.
Non-Conformist Churches[edit | edit source]
- 1717 England & Wales, Roman Catholics, 1717 at FindMyPast ($), index and images
Census Records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Probate Records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cambridgeshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
Fen Ditton on GENUKI
References[edit | edit source]
Return to Cambridgeshire Parishes