Fishlake, Yorkshire Genealogy
Guide to Fishlake, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Strafforth and Tickhill|
|Poor Law Union||Thorne|
|Parish registers: 1561|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1600|
|Probate Court||Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
Parish History[edit | edit source]
Fishlake St Cuthbert is an Ancient Parish in Doncaster Metropolitan Borough of South Yorkshire, which included Clowns, Foster Houses, Hay-Green, Smalledge, Thorninghirst and Westfield. When Sykehouse, Yorkshire became a parish in its own right it left the Ancient parish. The village and civil parish of Fishlake are within Doncaster Metropolitan Borough.
For a history of Fishlake see Doncaster and District Family History Society
The church of St Cuthbert has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building
FISHLAKE (St. Cuthbert), a parish, in the union of Thorne, S. division of the wapentake of Strafforth and Tickhill, W. riding of York; containing, with the chapelry of Sykehouse. The Primitive Methodists and Wesleyans have each a place of worship.
Resources[edit | edit source]
Civil Registration[edit | edit source]
Primary registration of births, marriages and deaths took place at the Doncaster registration district has been included in the online index available at Yorkshire BMD for post 1837 events; view the coverage table to check progress on the availability of index search. Marriages include
- Church of England marriages.
- Civil Marriages at register offices, or non-conformist churches where a registrar was required to be present at the ceremony.
- Authorised Person marriages. These cover the non-conformist places of worship which applied to keep their own registers as a result of the Marriage Act, 1898 (bringing them into line with Jewish and Quaker marriages which had this status since 1837). In such cases an 'Authorised Person' (usually the minister or priest) recorded the ceremony instead of the registrar. Earlier weddings in these places would be included with civil marriage registers.
A secondary index of Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD however this secondary index may omit the event and may not contain the detail of the Yorkshire BMD index
Church records[edit | edit source]
Online data content from chapelry registers of Fishlake exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|FISHLAKE PARISH (1539) Online Records|
List of Chapelry's in this Parish[edit | edit source]
For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Fishlake to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the FISHLAKE PARISH page.
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
Census records[edit | edit source]
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library.
Poor Law Unions[edit | edit source]
Probate records[edit | edit source]
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers[edit | edit source]
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Websites[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Lewis, Samuel A., A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) pp. 238-241. Date Accessed: 11 November 2013
- 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 28 October 2014.